Six Nations U20 – Murphy Names Ireland U20s Team For Italy U20s Clash In Cork


Ireland U20 Head Coach Richie Murphy has named his Match Day Squad, for Friday night’s U20 Six Nations clash against Italy at Virgin Media Park at 21:15 (SA Time).

Ireland opened their 2024 Championship with an impressive bonus point win in France last weekend, with Murphy’s side returning home to Cork for their first home game of the campaign.

Murphy has named an unchanged backline for the visit of Italy as Ben O’Connor, Finn Treacy and Hugo McLaughlin are named in the back three, with Hugh Gavin and Wilhelm de Klerk continuing in midfield. Jack Murphy and Oliver Coffey are the half-back pairing.

In the pack, Alex Usanov, Stephen Smyth and Jacob Boyd are the starting front row, with Alan Spicer once again packing down alongside captain Evan O’Connell in the engine room. Joe Hopes is at blindside flanker, Bryn Ward at openside and Luke Murphy at number eight.

Murphy has strong options among the replacements bench as Danny Sheahan, Ben Howard, Patreece Bell, Billy Corrigan and Sean Edogbo provide the reinforcements up front, with backs Tadhg Brophy, Sean Naughton and Ethan Graham completing the 23.

Ireland U20s: 15. Ben O’Connor, 14. Finn Treacy, 13. Wilhelm de Klerk, 12. Hugh Gavin, 11. Hugo McLaughlin, 10. Jack Murphy, 9. Oliver Coffey, 1. Alex Usanov, 2. Stephen Smyth, 3. Jacob Boyd, 4. Alan Spicer, 5. Evan O’Connell (c), 6. Joe Hopes, 7. Bryn Ward, 8. Luke Murphy. Replacements: 16. Danny Sheahan, 17. Ben Howard, 18. Patreece Bell, 19. Billy Corrigan, 20. Sean Edogbo, 21. Tadhg Brophy, 22. Sean Naughton, 23. Ethan Graham.