Sharks Steal The Win But Lost Their Championship Hopes

Photo Credit:

Tafel Lager Griquas and the Cell C Sharks were first out of the blocks in Round 6 of the Super Rugby Unlocked in Kimberley. Tafel Lager Griquas were desperate for the first win of their campaign but a penalty after the siren gave the Sharks a 34-33 victory.

The Griquas came out with a lot of fight in their hearts in the first half. Griquas dominated the scrums and the fight on the ground, and with an organised defence that stopped all attacks from the Shark in their tracks.

With fifteen minutes to go the bench of the Sharks did exactly what was expected from them. Two converted tries within minutes gave the Sharks back the lead with 31-30. A final penalty after the siren by Curwin Bosch sealed the win for the Sharks with 34-33.

The Sharks win was without a bonus point and ended their hopes for the Super Rugby Unlocked championship.

Tafel Lager Griquas was first to put points onto the scoreboard after just six minutes in the first half with a converted penalty by Tinus de Beer.

The Cell C Sharks scored their first try after 12 minutes in the first half. Poor defence by Griquas made it easy for the Sharks after they forced a turnover ball in their own half. The Cell C Sharks in the lead by 7-3.

A second penalty by Griquas narrowed the gap to one point with the Sharks still in the lead with 7-6.

A third penalty converted by Tinus de Beer gave Griquas the lead back with 9-7. The momentum at that stage of the match was with Griquas.

The Griquas were in the lead with 9-7 at the end of the first half. The momentum was with the Griquas at the break while the Sharks declined several opportunities at the poles as they needed a bonus point to keep their championship hopes alive.

The Sharks converted a penalty, within the first three minutes of the second half to be first to add points on the scoreboard and took the lead back with 10-9.

A brilliant five minutes of rugby by Griquas ended in an Ederies Arendse's try to give the lead back to Griquas With 16-10.

A yet another great scrum from Griquas resulted in a piece of individual brilliance from Eduan Keyer who scored the Griquas' second try of the match. The Griquas at that stage in complete control with twenty- seven minutes to go and 23-10 in the lead.

The Sharks struck back almost immediately after a mistake from Griquas at the kick-off. Manie Libbok scored to narrow the gap to six points. Griquas still in the lead with 23-17 and 22 minutes to go.

With twenty minutes left on the clock, Griquas pounced back almost immediately with their third try by to lead by 30-17.

The replacements by the Sharks brought intensity and speed to the Sharks game which gave captain Jeremy Ward the opportunity to reduce the gap again to six points with a converted try.

Dylan Richardson crossed Griquas tryline minutes later to take back the lead with 31-30.

A fourth penalty conversion by Tinus de Beer almost "gave" the Griquas their first win of the season but a stupid error by Griquas allowed Curwin Bosch to steal the game at the end with 34-33.

Tafel Lager Griquas: Tries: Ederies Arendse, Eduan Keyter, Gideon van der Merwe. Conversions: Tinus de Beer (3). Penalties: Tinus de Beer (4).
Cell C Sharks: Tries: Sanele Nohamba, Manie Libbok, Jeremy Ward, Dylan Richardson. Conversions: Curwin Bosch (4). Penalties: Curwin Bosch (2)

Tafel Lager Griquas: 15 Masixole Banda, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Harlon Klaasen, 12 Johnathan Francke, 11 Eduan Keyter, 10 Tinus de Beer , 9 Zak Burger (captain), 8 Johan Momsen, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Cameron Lindsay, 4 Adre Smith, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 HJ Luus, 1 Mox Mxoli. Replacements (from): 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Andrew Beerwinkel, 18 Madot Mabokela, 19 Carl Els, 20 CJ Velleman, 21 Theo Maree, 22 Daniel Kasende, 23 Ashlon Davids.

 Cell C Sharks: 15 Anthony Volmink, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Jeremy Ward (captain), 12 Marius Louw, 11 Madosh Tambwe, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Phepsi Buthelezi, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 James Venter, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 John-Hubert Meyer, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Ox Nche. Replacements: 16 Daniel Jooste, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Khwezi Mona, 19 JJ van der Mescht, 20 Dylan Richardson, 21 Gartg Wright, 22. Manie Libbok, 23 Sbu Nkosi