Sharks Stumble To Their First Loss Of The Season

Photo by Jorina Raath/

The Hurricanes stretched their unbeaten record against South African teams at home to 14, after beating the Sharks with 38-22. The Sharks simply made too many mistakes on especially defence in a match where the final score sort of flatter the Hurricanes.

The first twenty minutes of the match was characterised by the ill-discipline from the Sharks who conceded six penalties in this period. The Hurricanes scored their first try in the twentieth minute after another was disallowed a few minutes before to lead 10-07. A fast-paced, error-ridden, exciting and physical half came to an end with the two teams being tied at 17-17.

The Sharks continue to gift penalties to the Hurricanes which used the 10th penalty against the Sharks to set up their first points of the half. Bad defence by the Sharks the main contributor in the Hurricane's third try. Yet another defensive error allowed the Hurricanes to score their fourth try to stretch their lead to 31-17 at the end of the third quarter.

A rampant Hurricanes kept the pressure on the Sharks to win, at the end with ease against a visibly tiring Sharks team. The final score was 38-22.


Hurricanes: Try: Wes Goosen, Ngani Laumape, Ben Lam (2), Dan Coles. Conversions: Jordie Barrett (5). Penalty: Jordie Barrett.

Sharks: Try: Madosh Tambwe, Tyler Paul, Mzamo Majola. Conversion: Boeta Chamberlain, Sanele Nohamba (2). 

The teams:

Hurricanes: 15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Wes Goosen, 13 Vince Aso, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Reed Prinsep, 7 Gareth Evans, 6 Vaea Fifita, 5 Scott Scrafton, 4 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Asafo Aumua, 1 Fraser Armstrong. Replacements: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Pouri Rakete-Stones, 18 Alex Fidow, 19 Liam Mitchell, 20 Du’Plessis Kirifi, 21 Jamie Booth, 22 Fletcher Smith, 23 Billy Proctor.

Cell C Sharks: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Lukhanyo Am (captain), 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Boeta Chamberlain, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 James Venter, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Ox Nche. Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 Le Roux Roets, 20 Dylan Richardson, 21 Phepsi Buthelezi, 22 Sanele Nohamba, 23 Jeremy Ward.