Sharks Looking For Their 3rd Win On Australasian Tour

Photo by Jorina Raath/

Cell C Sharks play their final Vodacom Super Rugby match on their Australasian tour match against the Reds in Brisbane on Saturday. Kick-off is at 10h15. While the Cell C Sharks will be looking for their third win on tour the Reds is looking for their second win of the season.

Cell C Sharks head coach Sean Everitt made four changes to the side that beat the Rebels last weekend, most of them are rotational.

While Am is back as captain this weekend, in place of Jeremy Ward at outside centre, the trio of Makazole Mapimpi, Tyler Paul and James Venter will not face the Reds as a result of rotation.

The experienced Lwazi Mvovo replaces Mapimpi, with loose forwards Dylan Richardson and Henco Venter set to start on either side of the scrum. In the final change to the team, Louis Schreuder is back at scrumhalf for Sanele Nohamba.

Meanwhile, the Reds have made two changes to their starting team – Harry Hockings gets his first start of the season at lock alongside Izack Rodda, while Angus Scott-Young is back in the starting XV after being rested last week, with Lukhan Salakaia-Loto moving to the bench.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “We've got a tough opponent in the Cell C Sharks. They're on the last leg of their tour and will be looking to finish strongly. It's great to be at home again this week. We love playing in front of our Queensland fans. We look forward to another good crowd on Saturday night."

“We were pleased with the improvement in our set-piece against the Rebels and that made the world of difference. The team is displaying a lot of energy on the field and the excitement they show is rubbing off on one another and we’ve managed to put in some good performances along the way.” Cell C Sharks head coach Sean Everitt said.

The teams:

Reds: 15 Jock Campbell, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Hunter Paisami, 12 Hamish Stewart, 11 Henry Speight, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Tate McDermott, 8 Harry Wilson, 7 Liam Wright (captain), 6 Angus Scott-Young, 5 Harry Hockings, 4 Izack Rodda, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Alex Mafi, 1 JP Smith. Replacements: 16 Ed Craig, 17 Harry Hoopert, 18 Josh Nasser, 19 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 20 Fraser McReight, 21 Scott Malolua, 22 Isaac Lucas, 23 Filipo Daugunu.

Cell C Sharks: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Lukhanyo Am (captain), 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Sikumbuzo Notshe, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Dylan Richardson, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Ox Nche. Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 Le Roux Roets, 20 Phepsi Buthelezi, 21 Sanele Nohamba, 22 Marius Louw, 23 Jeremy Ward.