Sevens – Blizboks Claim Eleventh Place In Los Angeles


The Blitzboks secured 11th place at HSBC SVNS Los Angeles with a 28-15 win over Canada.

Zain Davids bulldozed his way through several tackles to score the Blitzboks' first try within a minute of the start of the match. Ryan Oosthuizen scored a second try for the Blitzboks while there were only 6 players on the field following the yellow card. The Blitzboks led 14-00 going into the second half.

Zain Davids started the second half like he did the first, bulldozing his way past several defenders to score the Blitzboks 3rd try. Canada relied immediately with a first try a minute later. Two tries by Canada and one by the Blitzboks ended the match with the Blitzboks winning 28-15.

Blitzboks: Tries: Zain Davids (2), Ryan Oosthuizen, Tristan Leyds. Conversions: Justin Geduld (2), Selvyn Davids (2).
Canada: Tries: Lian Bowman, Thomas Isherwood, Noah Flesch.


Blitzboks: Darren Adonis, Ryan Oosthuizen, Shaun Williams, Kat Letebele, Zain Davids, Rosko Specman, Impi Visser, Justin Geduld. Replacements: Tristan Leyds, Selvyn Davids, Shilton van Wyk, David Brits, Impi Visser.

Canada: Jack Carson, Thomas Isherwood, Josiah Morra, Liam Bowman, Kalin Sager, Elias Hancock, Cody Nhanala. Replacements: Ethan Hager, Matthew Percillier, Kobe Faust, Noah Flesch, Alex Russel.