Selvyn Davids Brilliant In Blitzboks’ Win Over Canada In HSBC Perth SVNS


The Bltzboks continued their dominance over Canada with an eleventh consecutive win, beating Canada 24-07 in their first match in the Perth SVNS Tournament.

Following an early attack by Canada the Blitzboks turned over the ball, spreading the ball out wide to Selvyn Davids who beat several defenders to open the score for the Blitzboks. Four minutes later Canada exposed the lack of commitment of the Blizboks to take the lead with 07-00. Brilliant footwork from Quewin Nortje put the Blitzboks in a 10-07 lead at the halftime break.

Three minutes into the second half, Selvyn Davids's magic feet saw him scoring his second try of the match to extend the Blitzboks' lead to 17-07. Tristan Leyds scored his first try on debut for the Blitzboks following a quick tap to extend the Blitzboks lead to 24-07, which was also the final score.

Blitzboks: Tries: Selvyn Davids (2), Quewin Nortje, Tristan Leyds. Conversions: Ricardo Duartee, Tristan Leyds.
Canada: Tries: Josiah Morra. Conversions: Lachlan Kratz.


Blitzboks: Quewin Nortje, Ryan Oosthuizen, Masande Mtshali, Shilton van Wyk, Selvyn Davids, Ronald Brown, Zain Davids. Replacements: Donavon Don, Tristan Leyds, David Brits, James Murphy, Ricardo Duartee.

Canada: Jack Carson, Matt Oworu, Josiah Morra, Phil Berna, Cooper Coats, David Richard, Lachlan Kratz. Replacements: Matthew Percillier, Thomas Isherwood, Kalin Sager, Jake Thiel, Cody Nhalala.