Schoolboy Rugby – SA Schools And SA Schools “A” Teams Named


Hooker Esethu Mnebelele (Golden Lions) and lock JD Hattingh (Blue Bulls) will captain the SA Schools and SA Schools teams respectively in the annual match between the two sides on Thursday 04 July 2024.

The match will be staged at the Hoërskool Monument in Krugersdorp on Thursday, 4 July and kick off at 15h00.

The SA Schools selectors picked the two squads brim-full of talent following another successful STADIO Under-18 Craven Week, which will conclude on Saturday in Krugersdorp.

The two squads and their respective management will get together for a camp in Krugersdorp from tomorrow, Saturday, 29 June to Friday 5 July.

Dave Wessels, the GM: High Performance Rugby at SA Rugby, said: “The two squads represent the best available talent which was on show at Craven Week.

“The Elite Player Development (EPD) programme managers at SA Rugby, and the SA Selectors have done another great job in identifying a strong pool of players from the incredible amount of talent that was on display in Krugersdorp.

"I want to congratulate all the players and management on their selection and wish them well in their preparations as they build-up towards the big match on Thursday," said Wessels.

The teams are:

SA Schools:
15 Alzeadon Felix (Free State)
14 Kuthadzo Rasivhaga (Golden Lions)
13 Pieter van der Merwe (Free State)
12 Janco Purchase (Blue Bulls)
11 Cheswill Jooste (Golden Lions)
10 Yaqeen Ahmed (Western Province)
9 Adeeb Borraine (Western Province)
8 Adan da Costa (Western Province)
7 Josh Neill (Western Province)
6 Kebotile Maake (Golden Lions)
5 Riley Norton (Western Province
4 James Schnetler (Blue Bulls)
3 Aidan Botha (Sharks)
2 Esethu Mnebelele (Golden Lions)
1 Phiwayinkosi Khubeka (Sharks)
16 Mahle Sithole (Sharks)
17 Oliver Reid (Western Province)
18 Cruz Davey (Western Province)
19 AJ Meyer (Free State)
20 Vuyo Gwiji (Sharks)
21 Elgernon Meyer (South Western Districts)
22 Vusi Moyo (Golden Lions)
23 Ethan Adams (Free State)
24 Cecil Parsons (Griffons)
25 Torren February (Western Province)
26 Zekhethelo Siyaya (Sharks)

SA Schools Management:
Team Manager: Dean Moodley (Sharks)
Head Coach: James Winstanley (Eastern Province)
Assistant Coach: Lwazi Zangqa (Border)
Physiotherapist: Farhaanah Nagia (Free State)
Conditioning Coach: Yaw Fosu-Amoah (Leopards)
Scrum Coach: Jacobus van Dyk (Blue Bulls)
Team Doctor: Gershin Kortje (Boland)

SA Schools A:
15 Akahluwa Boqwana (Sharks)
14 Nisako Ndlovu (Blue Bulls)
13 Markus Miller (Western Province)
12 Zingce Simka (Sharks)
11 Junaid Steward (Blue Bulls)
10 Luan Giliomee (Boland)
9 Handre Schoeman (Blue Bulls)
8 Ruben Kruger (Western Province)
7 Sipho Nonyalela (Eastern Province)
6 Briint Davids (Western Province)
5 JD Hattingh (Blue Bulls)
4 Tom Barnard (Western Province)
3 Duan Potgieter (Valke)
2 Liam Van Wyk (Free State)
1 Jordan Jooste (Western Province)
16 Xabiso Mkiva (Western Province)
17 Andre Poulton (Golden Lions)
18 Luquobo Makwedini (Western Province)
19 Ruan Viviers (Western Province)
20 Risima Khosa (Golden Lions)
21 Zaide Rippenaar (Valke)
22 Philip Mclaren (Free State)
23 Viaan Mentoor (Western Province)
24 Kurt Coetzee (South Western Districts)
25 Gcina Puzi (Border)
26 Gregan Jansen (Griquas)

SA Schools A Management:
Team Manager: Mandla Mdaka (Blue Bulls)
Head Coach: Heinrich Martin (Western Province)
Assistant Coach: Patdro Somerset (Eastern Province)
Physiotherapist: Robin Williams (KwaZulu Natal)
Conditioning Coach: Adriaan Jansen (Southwestern Districts)
Scrum Coach: Jacobus van Dyk (Blue Bulls)
Team Doctor: Gershin Kortje (Boland)