SARU u/20 Championship – Top 4 Not Decided Yet, However ….


Vodacom Bulls u/20 must be declared the winners of Round 5 of the 2021 SARU u/21 Competition. They convincingly outplayed the unbeaten Leopards u/20 with 39-17 to move to the top of the competition's log. 

The Bulls u/20 have played one more match than other teams that still have a mathematical chance to reach the playoffs, however, they should be able to collect the full 5 log points when they travel to Gqeberha on Friday next week leaving them with 23 points on the log.

The Sigma Lions u/20, who is currently second on the log travels next week to Potchefstroom to play the Leopards and host Eastern Province on 08 October in Johannesburg. The Lions should be able to win both and "should" secure a home semi-final on 16 October.

DHL Western Provine u/20 has one log point less than the Lions and hosts the Sharks next weekend. Their last league match will be against the Free State in Bloemfontein.

The Leopards u/20 and Sharks u/20 are both on 12 log points, 2 points behind Western Province and will have to win both of their remaining matches to reach the semi-finals. The match between these two teams in Durban on the 8th of October will most probably decide who will qualify for the play-offs.

Cell C Sharks u/20 46-18 Toyota Free State u/20

The Cell C Sharks u/20 "only" led 15-06 at the halftime break, however, the signs were already visible of a convincing win against the visitors. The Sharks u/20 scored another 4 tries in the second half to keep their playoff hopes alive.

Jacques Goosen's two tries took his tally to 6 for the season, securing his position as top try scorers this season.

Cell C Sharks u/20: Tries: Jacques Goosen (2), Enos Ndiao (2), Siya Ningiza, Siviwe Zondani. Conversions: Kian Meadon (3), Brandon Wilkie (2). Penalties: Kian Meadon (2).
Toyota Free State u/20: Try: Lohan Potgieter. Conversion: Wikus Basson. Penalties: Wikus Basson (2).

Cell C Sharks U/20: 15. Katlegi Thinyane, 14. Curwin Gertse, 13. Lloyd Koster, 12. Brandon Wilkie, 11. Siviwe Zondani, 10. Kian Meadon, 9. Bradley Davids, 8. Siya Ningiza, 7. Enios Ndiao, 6. Damon Royle, 5. Ockie Barnard (c), 4. Andrew Beyrooti, 3. Munashe Mhere, 2. Jaques Goosen, 1. Charles Gamhiwa. Replacements: 16. D Meuwese, 17. Henko Smuts, 18. B Golden, 19. Tiaan Jonker, 20. Jaques Marais, 21. Daimon O'Connell, 22. M Mkhize, 23. Simelela Nkomo, 24 Odwa Moletsane, 25. W Day, 26. D van Huizen.

Toyota Free State u/20: 15. J Nel, 14. R Muller, 13. Lesley Botha, 12. Jooste Nel, 11. Liyema Gaba, 10. W Basson, 9. Hlumelo Klaas, 8. Francois Bester, 7. Lohan Potgieter (c), 6. L Mgwigwi, 5. Zander du Toit, 4. Reinier Viljoen 3. Ali Gqaza 2. Ruan Nortje, 1. Warren Louw. Replacements: 16. M Nel, 17. B Venter, 18. Z Sale, 19. Kevin Strydom, 20. Gideon van Wyk , 21. Divan Roelofse, 22. C Josias, 23. J Oliver, 24. E Kotze, 25. Stefan Nortje, 26. Avumile Bongco.

Sigma Lions u/20 24-24 DHL Western Province u/20

Log leaders and unbeaten Sigma Lions u/20 hosted DHL Western Province in Round 5 of the SARU u/20 Championship. Sigma Lions u/20 stormed into a 17-07 lead after a great 1st half, however,  DHL Western Province U20 scored three tries in the second half to secure a 24-24 draw.

Jurich Claasens scored two tries he converted himself, added a penalty to score all of the Lions 17 points in the first half. WP flank Jarrod Taylor scored the only try of the first half for DHL Western Province U20, as they went into half-time trailing 17-7.

It was a stunning comeback in the second half from the visitors. The Lions scored the first points of the second half as Quan Horn scored the third try for the home team almost from the kick-off to extend the Lions lead to 24-07.

Replacement hooker Lukhanyo Vokozela scored from a line-out set play and after that, it was the backline who were able to shine as the visiting team finished strong. Jacques Rousseau scored the visitors 3rd try following a powerful scrum and it was some quick hands in the backline which saw wing Rethabile Louw go through for the bonus-point try, which secured the draw.

The scorers:
Sigma Lions u/20: Tries: Jurich Claasens (2), Quan Horn. Conversions: Jurich Claasens (3). Penalty: Jurich Claasens.
DHL Western Province U20: Tries: Jarrod Taylor, Lukhanyo Vokozela, Jaques Rousseau, Rethabile Louw. Conversions: Ethan James, Sacha Mngomezulu.

Sigma Lions u20: 15. Quan Horn, 14. Indiphile Tyeda, 13. Ngia Selengbe, 12. Henco van Wyk, 11. Zeilinga Strydom, 10. Jurich Claasens, 9. Nico Steyn, 8. Sisonke Vumasonke, 7. Izan Esterhuizen, 6. Sasko Ndlovu, 5. Jarrod Cairns, 4. Babalo Makana, 3. Sibusisi Shongwe, 2. Jacque-Lois du Toit, 1. Heiko Pohlmann. Replacements: 16. Allister Williams, 17. O Siyeni, 18. Kabous Bezuidenhout, 19. W Hlope, 20. C van Buuren, 21. S Mokoena, 22. J Jonas, 23. L Matyolweni, 24. P Mulea, 25. R Fourie, 26. B Hansen.

DHL WP U20: 15. Duran Koevort, 14. Ebenezer Tshimanga, 13. Ethan James, 12. Ruben Labuschagne, 11. Rethabile Louw, 10. Sacha Mngomezulu, 9. Bobby Alexander, 8. Armand Maritz, 7. Jarrod Taylor, 6. Romuald Ntumba, 5. Dylan De Leeuw (c), 4. Rhys Fulford, 3. Corne Weilbach, 2. Keagan Blanckenberg, 1. Rhynardt Rijnsburger. Replacements (from): 16. Lukhanyo Vokozela, 17. Lamla Nunu, 18. Vernon Matongo, 19. Connor Evans, 20. Louw Nel, 21. Liam Kloosman, 22. Cade Croy, 23. Jacque Rossouw, 24. Pascal Ekeji, 25. Taarique Kruger, 26. Christian Lamprecht.

Vodacom Bulls u/20 39-17 Leopards u/20

The match between these two teams was played at a great pace, with the difference between the two teams the Vodacom Bulls u/20's ability to score tries whenever the opportunity was there. The style of rugby that the Vodacom Bulls u/20 reminds a lot of that of a Grey College 1stXV, they play at a tremendous pace with the interplay between the forwards and backs just brilliant. The hand of ex Grey College coach Wessel du Plessis is evident as he steers this young squad to the playoffs. Something special is happening at Loftus.

However, although the home team outscored the Leopards u/20 with 6 tries to 2 the Leopards never stopped playing with only desperate defence by the Vodacom Bulls u/20 keeping the Leopards from scoring.

South African rugby is healthy, brimming with an unbelievable amount of talent.

Vodacom Bulls u/20: Tries: Enrique Coutriers, Raynard Roets, Cameron Hanekom, FC du Plessis, Tharquinn Manuel, Sonwabo Sokoyi. Conversions: FC du Plessis (2), Jandre Burger. Penalties: FC du Plessis.
Leopards u/20: Tries: Jakobus Cloete, Sanele Zungu. Conversions: Marin Venter (2). Penalty: Martin Venter.

Vodacom Bulls U20: 15. Niel Beukes, 14. Tharquin Manuel, 13. Canan Moodie, 12. Carlton Banies, 11. Bayanda Ngubane, 10. FC du Plessis, 9. Tiaan Fourie, 8. Cameron Hanekom, 7. Rynard Mouton (c), 6. Chulumanco Mfakadolo, 5. Tiaan de Klerk, 4. Raynard Roets, 3. Sebastian Lombard, 2. Enrique Coutriers, 1. Cebo Dhlamini. Replacements: 16. Keagan Potgieter, 17. Tielman Nieuwoudt, 18. Gerhard van der Merwe, 19. Ruan Delport, 20. Willie Potgieter, 21. Rowan Cloete, 22. Sonwabo Sokoyi, 23. Geraldo Flusk, 24. Eric Basson, 25. Ntokozo Hlope, 26. Jandre Burger.

5) Leopards: 15. I Phatudi, 14. E Fredericks, 13. Gerhard Ackerman, 12. Theuns Pretorius, 11. N Jaarts, 10. Martin Venter, 9. A Minnie, 8. Marvelous Mashimbye, 7. Jakkie Eloff, 6. Jakobus Cloete, 5. Franco Du Plessis, 4. Brandon Borcher, 3. Petrus Naude, 2. V Paulo, 1. D Manyama. Replacements: 16. C van Zyl, 17. N Francis, 18. H vd Westhuizen, 19. Casper Steenkamp, 20. S Zungu, 21. Tian v Zyl, 22. Christiaan Vlok, 23. K Windvogel, 24. Luan vd Walt, 25. J vd Walt, 26. Goodwin Nchocho.

Eastern Province had a bye in Round 5