SARU u/19 Cup’s Fight For The Wooden Spoon In Bloemfontein Will Be Exciting


DHL Western Province u/19 will be looking to end their SARU u/19 Cup campaign on a high when they face Toyota Cheetahs u/19 in Bloemfontein at Grey College on Saturday at 15h30.

Both teams are still looking for their first win of the season with the loser winning the wooden spoon.

The Toyota Cheetahs u/21 has improved during their first two matches and will test DHL Western Province u/19s to the maximum. Expect the hosts to speed up the play and as they did against the Vodacom Bulls u/19s, will hustle on the defence.

Prediction: DHL Western Province by 10.

Toyota Cheetahs u/19s, head coach, Bobby Joubert made five changes and one positional change to the side that lost to the Vodacom Bulls u/19 a week ago.

Two changes were made at the back. Michael Annies replaces Matt Golden at fullback and Diego Lottering replaces Khanyisa Hlengwa at the wing.

Deleon Fortuin and Ferdinand Vergottini are the new faces on the sides of the scrum. Franki dos Reis moves from hooker to tighthead while Jacobus Bezuidenhout was promoted from the bench at hooker in the fourth and last change up front.

DHL Western Province u/19 made three changes in the backline and three in the forward pack.

Fullback Diego Cupido, centre Philasande Ngcobo and scrumhalf Mikyle Thysse all come into the backline, while in the forwards, props Roger Petersen and Daniel Kallel and No.8 Carlos da Costa get a start.

Having lost out narrowly last week, Head Coach Nazeem Adams said that his team are determined to finish on a winning note.

“We were very disappointed to lose with the last movement of the match last week and the players are focused on going one better away from home this weekend.

“There were some encouraging signs last week, so we want to bild on those and improve our performance in Bloemfontein this weekend,” he said.


Cheetahs u/19: 15. Michael Annies, 14. Adielson Gouveia, 13. Jacquin Jacobus, 12. Chad Oppelts, 11. Khanyisa Hlengwa, 10. Tiaan Kriek, 9. Liam de Wet, 8. Danston Cloete, 7. Deleon Bernardu, 6. Ferdinand Vergottini, 5. Zander van der Berg, 4. Kristof du Randt, 3. Frankie Dos Reis, 2. Jacobus Bezuidenhout, 1. Johan Durr. Replacements: 16. Jundre le Roux, 17. Ayanda Ncokazi, 18. Cassie Botes, 19. Kian Kirsten, 20. Adian Oosthuizen, 21. Dian vander Watt, 22. Murray Ferreira, 23. Khanyisa Hlengwa.

DHL Western Province u/19: 15 Diego Cupido, 14 Iwaan Bloys, 13 Philasande Ngcobo, 12 Thomas Nel, 11 Bevan Simons, 10 FC Fourie, 9 Mikyle Thysse, 8 Carlos da Costa, 7 Jan-Hendrik Gouws, 6 Paul de Villiers (captain), 5 Hennie Sieberhagen, 4 Oliver Kurz, 3 Daniel Kallel, 2 Gustav Laubscher, 1 Roger Petersen. Replacements: 16 Jared Hansen, 17 Ethan Wasserfall, 18 Chris Pittaway, 19 Corbin Benjamin, 20 Eely Pieters, 21 Jared Africa, 22 Graeme Waldeck, 23 Thaaqib Ryland.