SA Cup – Toyota Cheetahs Name Team To Host Airlink Pumas


Toyota Cheetahs coach Henley du Plessis named his team to host the Airlink Pumas in a round three SA Cup match on Friday at 18:00 (SA Time).

The Toyota Cheetahs are playing in two competitions this weekend. Coach Izak van der Westhuizen and a squad of 25 players left for France on Tuesday and will face Clermont in the EPCR Challenge Cup Round of 16.

Henley du Plessis took over the reins for the SA Cup match in Bloemfontein.

Coach Henley du Plessis: “It seems like every time the Toyota Cheetahs plays in the EPCR Challenge Cup Round of 16, we play against the Pumas. Luckily, this year, we prepared well. We knew this weekend would come, and we needed some extra guys.

“A lot of youngsters are making their debut for the Toyota Cheetahs. It will be a challenge for us, but we are up for it, and we will focus on the weekend.”

The Toyota Cheetahs take great pride in fielding a squad where 14 out of 23 players have emerged from the esteemed Toyota Academy. This significant representation of talented youngsters underscores the commitment to nurturing promising talent within the ranks.

Captain Thabang Mahlasi: “I’m going to grab this opportunity and make the most of it. With time, this thing will happen, and sooner or later, I will also be on a flight, but now we focus on our task, playing against the Pumas on Friday.”

“I feel like we have a strong leadership group comprising Sbu and James, who are well experienced. I think they will help us, especially when guiding the young guys who recently joined us. I really think that experience will come in handy.” Thabang is a former captain of the Shimlas.

Toyota Cheetahs: 15. Banie Britz, 14. S’bu Nkosi, 13. Gert Steyn, 12. Luke Carew, 11. Rhetabile Mzamo, 10. James Verity-Amm, 9. Marco Janse van Vuren, 8. Sisonke Vumazonke, 7. Ulrich Stander, 6. Andisa Ntsila, 5. Thabang Mahlasi (c), 4. Arno van der Merwe, 3. Justin Forwood, 2. Vernon Paulo, 1. Cameron Dawson. Replacements: 16. Nick Greyling, 17. Kevin Stevens, 18. Marco Conradie, 19. AJ Burger, 20. Niel Venter, 21. Christiaan van der Westhuizen, 22. Ruben de Haas, 23. Marcey de Waal.