Roux Makes One Change For U20 Champs Semi-final


Salmaan Moerat will start at lock against England in the World Rugby U20 Championship semi-final on Tuesday in the only change to Junior Springboks coach Chean Roux’s starting team that defeated Argentina last Thursday.

Moerat replaces Hendre Stassen, who is nursing a knee injury, and he will pair up with Ruben van Heerden in the engine room.

There are two changes among the replacements with prop Lee-Marvin Mazibuko replacing Wikus Groenewald, who has the flu, while Reinhard Nothnagel will provide back-up for Moerat and Van Heerden.

“We looked at England’s strengths and we think these are the best combinations for us for the semi-final,” Roux said about his team selection.

Roux said he is expecting a physical onslaught from England, who are the defending champions, but added his team’s focus was on delivering a quality performance to advance to the final.

England defeated Ireland 45-21 in the Final of the 2016 edition of the tournament in Manchester to win the competition.

“This is a big game for us,” said Roux.

“England is a physical side and they are full of confidence. They are the defending champions as well. But that said, our plans are in place as a team and we just need to go out there and execute it.”

The semi-final will be hosted at the M. Meskhi Stadium in Tbilisi at 16h00 (SA time) and will be broadcast live on SuperSport 1 (Channel 201). New Zealand will face France in the second semi-final, which starts at 18h30 (SA time).


Junior Springboks team to face England in the World Rugby U20 Championship semi-final:

15 – Manie Libbok (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

14 – Yaw Penxe (EP Kings)

13 – Wandisile Simelane (Xerox Golden Lions)

12 – Damian Willemse (DHL Western Province)

11 – Gianni Lombard (Xerox Golden Lions)

10 – Curwin Bosch (Cell C Sharks)

9 – Embrose Papier (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

8 – Juarno Augustus (DHL Western Province)

7 – Ernst van Rhyn (captain – DHL Western Province)

6 – Len Massyn (Xerox Golden Lions)

5 – Ruben van Heerden (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

4 – Salmaan Moerat (DHL Western Province)

3 – Carlű Sadie (DHL Western Province)

2 – Johan Grobbelaar (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

1 – Kwenzo Blose (Toyota Free State)


16 – Gerhard Steenekamp (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

17 – Daniel Jooste (DHL Western Province)

18 – Lee-Marvin Mazibuko (DHL Western Province)

19 – Reinhard Nothnagel (Xerox Golden Lions)

20 – Muller Uys (DHL Western Province)

21 – Francois de Villiers (Cell C Sharks)

22 – Stedman Gans (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

23 – Jeanluc Cilliers (Xerox Golden Lions)