Pumas Change Six For Their Trip To Durban

Photo Credit: Speedshots.co.za

The Phakisa Pumas made six changes to their starting line-up to travel to Durban for Round 1 of the Carling Currie Cup.

The Puma lost to the Bulls last weekend 5-21 after trailing 0-21 at the end the first half. Coach Jimmy Stonehouse has said that the Pumas will need to start to play from minute one and that a great second half does not win games.

Liam Hendriks replace Morgan Naude at loose-head, while Daniel Maartens (#6) and Francois Kleinhans (#8) for a new set of loosies with Phumzile Maqondwana the only survivor at #7.

Ginter Smuts are back at scrumhalf, Ali Mgijima and Morne Joubert are the other players that return to the starting line-up.

Phakisa Pumas: 1. Liam Hendriks, 2. HP van Schoor, 3. Ruan Kramer, 4. Darrien Landsberg, 5. Pieter Janse van Vuren ©, 6. Daniel Maartens, 7. Phumzile Maqondwana, 8. Francois Kleinhans, 9. Ginter Smuts, 10. Theo Boshoff, 11. Etienne Taljaard, 12. Ali Mgijima, 13. Erich Cronje, 14. Morne Joubert, 15. Devon Williams. Replacements: 16. Marko Janse van Rensburg, 17. Wikus Groenewald, 18. Brandon Valentyn, 19.Heath Backhouse, 20. Chriswill September, 21.Wayne vd Bank, 22. Tapiwa Mafura, 23. Dewald Maritz.