Preview – SARU u/21 Championship Final

Photo Credit:

The final of the SARU u/21 Championship will be played at Emirates Airline Park today @ 14h00. The Vodacom Bulls u/21 will attempt to defend their SARU u/21 title against a Xerox Lions side that will be full of confidence after their win against the Bulls (26-17) earlier in this competition.

There will be several exciting areas of battle during the game with the battle upfront most probably the decider of who will be crowned the champions. The Lions must establish a lead early on as the bench of the Bulls is the better of the two and a comeback win always a possibility.

The absence of Johan Mulder at scrumhalf could cost the Bulls if the Lions' forwards dominate early on, while Franke Horne and Damian Venter's return last weekend made a very good Lions side a brilliant one.

The Vodacom Bulls made six changes to their side that lost to the Lions. Richard Kriel, Stravino Jacobs, Diego Appollis, Sebastiaan Jobb and Bernard vd Linde are the new faces at the back while Divan Venter at number 8 the only change upfront.

The Lions made only three changes with Prince Nkabinde at the back the only change while upfront Damian Venter and Franke Horn did not play against the Bulls earlier in this competition.

Vodacom Blue Bulls u/21: 15. Richard Kriel, 14. Stravino Jacobs, 13. Diego Appollis, 12. Jay-Cee Nel, 11. Sebastiaan Jobb, 10. David Coetzer, 9. Bernard van der Linde, 8. Divan Venter, 7. Keenan Opperman, 6. Hendri du Toit, 5. Janko Swanepoel, 4. Jordan van Dyk, 3. Eduan Swart, 2. Janco Uys, 1. Kudzwai Dube (C). Replacements: 16. Keano Hendricks, 17. Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 18. Nolan Pienaar, 19. Uzile Tele, 20. WJ Steenkamp, 21. Keagan Johannes, 22. Ruben Beytell, 23. Dawid Kellerman.

Xerox Lions u/21: 15. Shaun Baxter, 14. Prince Nkabinde, 13. James Mollentze, 12. Luke Rossouw, 11. Ngia Selengbe, 10. Marc Morisson, 9. Runaldo Pedro, 8. Franke Horn (capt), 7. Sibusiso Sangweni, 6. Mark Snyman, 5. Cal Smid, 4. Emmanuel Tshituka, 3. Asenathi Ntlabakanye, 2. Dameon Venter, 1. Nkosikhona Masuku. Replacements: 16. Darnell Osowagu, 17. Banele Mthenjane, 18. Ebot Buma, 19. Junior White, 20. Mandisi Mthiyane, 21. Hlumelo Ndudula, 22. Jordan Hendrikse, 23. Boitumelo Tsatsane, 24. Quan Horn, 25. Lindo Ncusane.