Preview – It Is Going To Be Physical And Fast In Bloemfontein Between Toyota Cheetahs And Windhoek Draught Griquas


Toyota Cheetahs will face the Windhoek Draught Griquas on tonight at 19:00 in the last Toyota Challenge match in which a cool R250 000 will be at stake.

The main match should be a humdinger, especially given that the Windhoek Draught Griquas gave the Toyota Cheetahs a 46-18 drubbing in their Currie Cup encounter a mere five months ago.

The Toyota Cheetahs has used this competition to test combinations and newcomers while the Windhoek Draught Griquas admittingly did the same to a lesser extent which will count in the favour of the visitors.

Prediction: Windhoek Draught Griquas by 10.

Toyota Cheetahs' head coach Hawies Fourie named an almost brand new starting line-up for their final Toyota Challenge match.

Only Oupa Mahoje and captain Victor Sekekete are returning from the starting line-up that played against the USA 'A) team.

Captain Victor Sekekete said: "It's been a good build-up for us. We know this last game will be tough, but we want to get what we had in the second half against the USA last week. We want to build on the momentum and get a good reward after the good pre-season."

Windhoek Draught Griquas head coach Pieter Berg said that the team named for today is currently the strongest team the can select

Bergh made two changes to his starting line-up. Up front, Godfrey Muzanargwo is replaced by Mihlali Stamper who will make his debut and at the back, Malcolm Jaer is replaced by  Ashlon Davids at fullback.


Toyota Cheetahs: 15. Tapiwa Mafura, 14. Daniel Kasende, 13. David Brits, 12. Reinhardt Fortuin, 11. Munier Hartzenberg, 10. Siya Masuku, 9. Ruan Pienaar, 8. Jeandre Rudolph, 7. Oupa Mohoje, 6. Daniel Maartens, 5. Victor Sekekete (C), 4. Friedle Olivier, 3. Hencus van Wyk, 2. Louis van der Westhuizen, 1. Cameron Dawson. Replacements: 16. Marko Janse van Rensburg, 17. Schalk Ferreira, 18. Marne Coetzee, 19. Rynier Bernardo, 20. Sibabalo Qoma, 21. Rewan Kruger, 22. Evardi Boshoff, 23. Andell Loubser.

Windhoek Draught Griquas: 15. Ashlon Davids, 14. Reagan Oranje, 13. Jay-Cee Nel, 12. Tertius Kruger, 11. Luther Obi, 10. Eddie Fouche, 9. Johan Mulder, 8. Carl Els, 7. Michael Amiras, 6. Niel Otto (c), 5. Albert Liebenberg, 4. Mihlali Stamper, 3. Janu Botha, 2. Janco Uys, 1. Kudzwai Dube. Replacements: 16. Sean Swart, 17. Eddie Davids, 18. Justin Forwood, 19. Thabo Ndimande, 20 Stephan Smit, 21. Bobby Alexander, 22 George Whitehead, 23. Vaughen Isaacs.