Ospreys Name Team To Host DHL Stormers


The Ospreys have named their team to take on the DHL Stormers at the Swansea.com Stadium on Friday evening four round five of the United Rugby Championship, at 20h35 (SA Time).

Head Coach Toby Booth said: “I’m on record of wanting to test our group whether that be the young players or the Internationals, we want to test what we’re trying to do against the best. Having the influence of the top South African teams in the competition means everyone must get better.

“Every week is an opportunity to mark where you are. We’re excited by the challenge of the Stormers. We have to defend well against them, and we did that well against Glasgow. We took our opportunities when they presented themselves and we know this Friday night will be a different challenge. We’re going against a team who like to be positive, they try to express themselves, good athletes and big collisions. It’ll be a big test for us but like all good teams your performances start and finish with your fundamentals so it’s up to us to decide how good we can be.”

Rhys Webb will lead out the side as Captain lining up alongside Stephen Myler who makes his first appearance of the season. Keelan Giles, George North and Max Nagy form the back three with Michael Collins and Owen Watkin in the midfield.

Up front, Nicky Smith and Tomas Francis line up on either side of Dewi Lake with Adam Beard and Alun Wyn Jones forming the second row. Ethan Roots, Jac Morgan and Morgan Morris complete the starting pack.

Reuben Morgan Williams, Jack Walsh and Luke Morgan provide the back cover off the bench. Scott Baldwin, Rhys Henry and Tom Botha cover the front row with Rhys Davies and Dan Lydiate completing the matchday 23.

The following players were unavailable due to injury: Alex Cuthbert, Dan Evans, Will Griffiths, Sam Cross, Gareth Anscombe, Bradley Davies, Will Hickey, Harri Morgan, Sam Moore, Mat Protheroe, Garyn Phillips, Gareth Thomas, Justin Tipuric.

Ospreys: 15. Max Nagy, 14. George North, 13. Owen Watkin, 12. Michael Collins, 11. Keelan Giles, 10. Stephen Myler, 9. Rhys Webb (c), 8. Morgan Morris, 7. Jac Morgan, 6. Ethan Roots, 5. Alun Wyn Jones, 4. Adam Beard, 3. Tomas Francis, 2. Dewi Lake, 1. Nicky Smith. Replacements: 16. Scott Baldwin, 17. Rhys Henry, 18. Tom Botha, 19. Rhys Davies, 20. Dan Lydiate, 21. Reuben Morgan Williams, 22. Jack Walsh, 23. Luke Morgan.