One Change For Brumbies In Top Of The Table Clash Against The Reds


The Brumbies hosts the Reds in its round 5 Super Rugby AU clash at the GIO Stadium on Saturday 11:15 SA time. Brumbies coach Dan McKellar has made just the one change to the starting XV for the top of the table clash against the Queensland Reds. The Brumbies come off an impressive win over the Force (24-0) last weekend and are currently first on the Super Rugby AU competition log and is still unbeaten in the 2021 Super Rugby AU competition.

Lock Darcy Swain returns to the side after missing the 24-0 win over the Western Force and will partner Nick Frost for the first time in the starting second row.

Wallabies stars Scott Sio, Folau Fainga'a and skipper Allan Alaalatoa will again set the standard in the set-piece from the front row.

Youngster Rob Valetini, Will Miller and Pete Samu combine for the second straight week as loose forwards with Joe Powell and Bayley Kuenzle lining up the halves.

Last weekend's man of the match Irae Simone will look to continue his fine form at inside centre. Test star Tevita Kuridrani to play outside him in his 129th match for the club.

Tom Wright will again get a chance to impress on the wing, with the damaging Solomone Kata and ever-reliable Tom Banks making up the back three.

After a solid 25 minutes last week, Connal McInerney is again the replacement hooker, with James Slipper and Tom Ross the other front-row replacements.

Vice-captain Tom Cusack returns to the side and will be helped out by Lachlan McCaffrey to cover the loose forwards.

Speedster Issak Fines will be the number nine replacement, with Mack Hansen and proud Indigenous man Andy Muirhead finalising the matchday 23.

Brumbies coach Dan McKellar said: "We're excited to get another opportunity to play in front of our supporters this week in Canberra and take on the Reds who have had a good start to the new competition."

"We've had a solid week of preparation and the whole team is up for what's going to be a big challenge on Saturday night.

"It's also going to be a special occasion to be able to wear our first ever Indigenous jersey and I know the players are proud to be a part of that."

Brumbies: 1. Scott Sio, 2. Folau Fainga'a, 3. Allan Alaalatoa (c), 4. Darcy Swain, 5. Nick Frost, 6. Rob Valetini, 7. Will Miller, 8. Pete Samu, 9. Joe Powell, 10. Bayley Kuenzle, 11. Tom Wright, 12. Irae Simone, 13. Tevita Kuridrani, 14. Solomone Kata, 15. Tom Banks. Replacements: 16. Connal McInerney, 17. James Slipper, 18. Tom Ross, 19. Tom Cusack, 20. Lachlan McCaffrey, 21. Issak Fines, 22. Mack Hansen, 23. Andy Muirhead.