Oakdale Secure Famous Win Against Boland Landbou


Oakdale Lanbou secure a famous 26 - 17 win in the final Supa Quick Premier Interschools clash of the season against rivals Boland Landbou in the battle of the ‘farmers’ in Paarl on Saturday the 27th of August 2022

A clinical derby day performance where most outcomes favoured the visitors from Riversdale, Oakdale Landbou. Boland Landbou will reflect on the opportunities they left out on the field and wonder ‘what could've been.

Oakdale came out all guns blazing in the opening quarter of the match. It only took 2 minutes before they drew first blood from a well taken long-range penalty from head boy and inside centre, Kobus Janse van Rensburg. 0 - 3 in favour of the visitors.

They didn’t have to wait much longer as a fired up forward back delivered a 20-meter rolling maul in the 7th minute that earned Oakdale the opportunity to spread it wide to fullback Keagan Coerecius who dotted down for the first try of the afternoon. Janse van Rensburg missed the conversion. Oakdale led 0 - 8.

Boland Lanbou had a slow start to the match until the 13th minute when a few phases of possession on attack meant a flat pass to inside centre and a great line by Albie Bester gave them their first try and points in the derby. A rushed conversion was missed by flyhalf Jandre Genis. Boland back in the match 5 points to 8.

The first missed opportunity for Boland Lanbou came when on attack. They won a penalty for an offside infringement by Oakdale and what could’ve been the leveling three points was missed by Genis from the kicking tee. Oakdale held onto the lead 5 - 8 with 22 minutes played.

The final moment of mention in the first half came 2 minutes before halftime when Oakdale won a penalty on attack for Boland’s tackler not rolling away. Janse van Rensburg calmly added the three points on offer to end the first half 11 - 8 in favour of the ‘famers’ from Riversdale.

The second half followed a similar pattern as it was Oakdale who once again started better than their rivals. Scrum half Marcel Strydom scored his side's second try after great interplay between backs and forwards. Janse van Rensburg missed the conversion. 47 minutes played; Oakdale led 16 - 7.

5 minutes later Boland Lanbou bounced back with a dominant maul from inside Oakdale’s 22m area to gift hooker Hannes van Wyk with a try. Genis missed the conversion once more, but Boland were now within one converted try from Oakdale, 16 - 10.

The final 15 minutes of the match were frenetic for both sides. Oakdale hit back twice in quick succession with the first being a gift three points added by Janse van Rensburg’s boot after an offside penalty was given, 19 - 10 as the visitors looked to close the game out.

Moments later against the run of play Oakdale turned over possession and the counterattack were on. Oakdale captain Francois Du Toit made a great line break before finding the support run of Marcel Strydom who made a final pass to lock Andre Goedhals that would ultimately seal the victory for Oakdale and give them their third and final try. Janse van Rensburg added the two points, 26 - 10 with 7 minutes to play.

Boland Lanbou did have the final say in the match with a consolation try from flyhalf Jandre Genis. He converted his own try. A yellow card was also given to replacement flanker Emilio Silva from Oakdale who dived onto the try scorer.

The final moments of the match belonged to the visitors as they held onto a famous derby day victory away from home 26 points to 17.

SupaQuick Man of the Match:
Oakdale’s Captain Francois Du Toit (6)


Boland Landbou: Tries: Albie Bester, Hannes Van Wyk, Jandre Genis. Conversion: Jandre Genis.

Oakdale Landbou: Tries: Keagan Coerecius, Marcel Strydom, Andre Goedhals. Conversion: Kobus Janse Van Rensburg. Penalties: Kobus Janse Van Rensburg (3/3)


Boland Landbou: 15 Bezuidenhout Joe, 14 Daniels Angelo, 13 Booise Shauwin, 12 Bester Albie, 11 De Villiers Dewald, 10 Genis Jandre, 9 Hesse Francois, 8 Pretorius Jaccus ©, 7 Engelbrecht Jaco, 6 Louw Jan, 5 Jongsma Wian, 4 Truter Andries, 3 Etzebeth Christoff, 2 Van Wyk Hannes, 1 Lamont Malcolm

Oakdale: 15 Coerecius Keagan, 14 Pretorius Pieter, 13 Jonker James, 12 J v Rensburg Kobus, 11 Prins Therlow, 10 Marais Pieter, 9 Strydom Marcel, 8 Van Vuuren AJ, 7 Combrinck Armand, 6 Du Toit Francois ©, 5 Reinstof Hagen, 4 Goedhals Andre, 3 Waterson Reuben, 2 Van Staden Jurgen, 1 Windvogel Devon