Jordie Barrett Back For Hurricanes

The Hurricanes named their team to face the Chiefs at the FMG Stadium Waikato on Sunday 5 July at 05:35 SA Time. The Hurricanes come off a bye while the Chiefs lost to the Crusaders (13-18) last weekend. Both sides are still looking for their first win of the 2020 Super Rugby Aotearoa Series.

The Hurricanes last played the Chiefs a few days before COVID-19 forced the cancellation of the original Investec Super Rugby season.
In that game, the Hurricanes won 27 – 24 thanks to a last-minute penalty from Barrett.

Jordie Barrett will make his return to Investec Super Rugby, as the Hurricanes get set for a clash against the Chiefs in Hamilton this Sunday.
The 22-year-old has been nursing a shoulder injury for the first two rounds of the competition, which meant Chase Tiatia took over as fullback.

Upfront, Scott Scrafton is the sole change made to the forward pack which went up against the Crusaders two weeks ago – replacing Vaea Fifita at lock.

Peter Umaga-Jensen also gets his first start over Vince Aso and Kobus Van Wyk gets the nod ahead of Wes Goosen.

The Hurricanes assistant coach, Chris Gibbes says there’s a lot on the line. “It’s going to be a huge clash for both teams who are desperate to win. Both sides are playing good rugby, without the results to match. We need to go out there stay focussed and meet the intense physicality that the Chiefs are going to bring at home.”

Team: 15. Jordie Barrett, 14. Kobus Van Wyk, 13. Peter Umaga-Jensen, 12. Ngani Laumape, 11. Ben Lam, 10. Jackson Garden-Bachop, 9. TJ Perenara [cc], 8. Ardie Savea, 7. Du’Plessis Kirifi, 6. Reed Prinsep, 5. Scott Scrafton, 4. James Blackwell, 3. Tyrel Lomax, 2. Dane Coles [cc], 1. Fraser Armstrong. Replacements: 16. Ricky Riccitelli, 17. Ben May, 18. Alex Fidow, 19. Vaea Fifita, 20. Liam Mitchell, 21. Jamie Booth, 22. Billy Proctor, 23. Wes Goosen.