Jordan Hendrikse Powers Emirates Lions To Opening Win Over USAP


The Emirates Lions, who reached last year’s quarter-finals, proved a stubborn outfit for their French hosts and led throughout to win 28-12.

TOP14 side USAP struggled to break through their visitors with all of their points coming from kicker Jean-Pascal Barraque.

The sides traded early penalties with Hendrikse striking the visitors ahead before full-back Barraque kicked his side level on six minutes.

Emirates Lions scored the game’s only try on nine minutes when full-back Andries Coetzee ran onto his chipped kick before then releasing wing Rabz Maxwane to dot down, converted from a difficult angle by Hendrikse.

The French hosts pulled back when a chipped kick resulted in an off-side decision and Barraque scored his second penalty of the afternoon.

USAP pulled back to a single point with Barraque kicking two penalties before Hendrikse added to his kicking tally at the opposite end.

The French hosts replied with Barraque kicking from 40 metres out, but Emirates Lions finished the half strongly with Hendrikse scoring from under the posts to make it 12-16 at half-time.

With little between the sides, Hendrikse took a long-range penalty opportunity to increase the visitors’ lead early in the second half and then added a fifth penalty on the hour mark.

A further Hendrikse effort from distance four minutes later gave the visitors a 13-point lead before adding his seventh penalty during the convincing win.

USAP: Penalties: Jean-Pascal Barraque (4).
Emirates Lions: Try: Rabz Maxwane. Conversion: Jordan Hendrikse. Penalties: Jordan Hendrikse (7).


USAP: 15. Jean-Pascal Barraque, 14. Lucas Dubois, 13. Afusipa Taumoepeau, 12. Freddy Duguivalu, 11. Louis Dupichot, 10. Alexandre Perez, 9. Matteo Rodor, 8. Ewan Bertheau, 7. Alan Brazo, 6. Jaco van Tonder, 5. Shahn Eru, 4. Tristan Labouteley, 3. Nemo Roelofse, 2. Victor Montgaillard, 1. Sacha Lotrian. Replacements: 16. Vakhtang Jincharadze, 17. Xavier Chiocci, 18. Akato Fakatika, 19. Lucas Bachelier, 20. Valentin Moro, 21. Tom Ecochard, 22. Eddie Sawailau, 23. Boris Goutard.

Emirates Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Rabz Maxwane, 13 Erich Cronje, 12 Zander du Plessis, 11 Bodwin Hansen, 10 Jordan Hendrikse, 9 Nico Steyn, 8 Hanru Sirgel, 7 Ruhan Straeuli, 6 JC Pretorius, 5 Raynard Roets, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Ruan Smith, 2 Jaco Visagie (c), 1 Corne Fourie. Replacements: 16 Morne Brandon, 17 Morgan Naude, 18 Conraad van Vuuren, 19 Izan Esterhuizen, 20 Travis Gordon, 21 Johan Mulder, 22 Gianni Lombard, 23 Rynhardt Jonker/Sibusiso Sangweni