Ireland Spoils The Blitzboks’ Cape Town Party


Ireland spoiled the Blitzboks' party, beating them 14-12 in the final game of Day 1 of the HSBC SVNS Cape Town Tournament.

Despite the loss the Blitzboks still qualified for the quarter-final and will play Australia at 11:18 on Saturday.

Rosco Specman scored the Blitzboks' first try following a quick tap from a penalty to lead 05-00 after just two minutes of play. However, the two tries by Gavin Mullan just before halftime gave Ireland a 15-05 lead going into the second half.

The second half was a tight duel with the Blitzboks' Dewald Human scoring their second try just before fulltime, to reduce Ireland's lead to just 14-12. Unfortunately, time ran out for the host with Ireland claiming a two-point win.

Blitzboks: Tries: Rosco Specman, Dewald Human. Conversions: Dewald Human.
Ireland: Tries: Gavin Mullan (2). Conversions: Hugo Lennox (2).

Blitzboks: Quewin Nortje, Ryan Oosthuizen, Selvyn Davids, Tiaan Pretorius, Zain Davids, Rosco Specman, Justin Geduld. Replacements: Dewald Human, Masande Mtshali, Kat Letebele, Ronald Brown, Impi Visser.

Ireland: Hugo Lennox, Zac Ward, Gavin Mullin, Sean Cribbin, Chay Mullins, Harry McNulty, Jack Kelly. Replacements. Niall Comerford, Mark Roche, Terry Kennedy, Shane Jennings, Sean Cribbin, Jordan Conroy.