International – Scotland Name Team To Face Ireland In Dublin


Stafford McDowall is poised for a first taste of Guinness Men’s Six Nations action after being named as one of two changes to head coach Gregor Townsend’s starting team to face Ireland in Dublin on Saturday at 18:45 (SA Time), as this year’s championship reaches its conclusion.

McDowall, who made his Scotland debut in a Rugby World Cup warm-up match against Italy last year, will form a centre partnership with Huw Jones for Saturday’s clash at the Aviva Stadium, as Ben White returns to play scrum-half having not featured in last weekend’s loss to Italy in Rome.

White once more joins co-captain Finn Russell as the half-back pairing, with the remaining back division unchanged in the form of full-back Blair Kinghorn, wingers Duhan van der Merwe and Kyle Steyn.

Scotland go with the same starting pack, with co-captain Rory Darge lining up at openside flanker in a back row also containing Andy Christie at blindside and Jack Dempsey operating from the base of the scrum at No 8.

Scott Cummings and Grant Gilchrist, named as vice-captain, continue to combine in the second row, as do loosehead prop Pierre Schoeman, hooker George Turner and tighthead Zander Fagerson in the front row.

Rory Sutherland (loosehead) is primed for a first outing in this year’s championship after being named among the replacements, with Ewan Ashman (hooker), Elliot Millar-Mills (tighthead), second-row Sam Skinner, and versatile back-row Matt Fagerson further forward options from the bench.

Scotland’s 23-player squad is completed by scrum-half George Horne, centre Cameron Redpath and Kyle Rowe, who covers the back three positions.

Scotland: 15. Blair Kinghorn, 14. Kyle Steyn, 13. Huw Jones, 12. Stafford McDowall, 11. Duhan van der Merwe, 10. Finn Russell (cc), 9. Ben White. 1. Pierre Schoeman, 2. George Turner, 3. Zander Fagerson, 4. Grant Gilchrist (vc), 5. Scott Cummings, 6. Andy Christie, 7. Rory Darge (cc), 8. Jack Dempsey. Replacements: 16. Ewan Ashman, 17. Rory Sutherland, 18. Elliot Millar-Mills, 19. Sam Skinner, 20. Matt Fagerson, 21. George Horne, 22. Cameron Redpath, 23. Kyle Rowe.