Griquas Welcome Back George Whitehead


Scott Mathie, head coach of the Tafel Lager Griquas made only three changes to his starting line-up that will face the Toyota Cheetahs on Saturday in Kimberley.

Upfront, two changes were made. At loosehead prop, Mox Mxoli replaces Andrew Beerwinkel who drops to the bench while Adre Smith is promoted to the starting line-up at lock and replace Ewan Coetzee.

At the back, only one change was made. Daniel Kasende replaces Eduan Keyter who moves to the other wing and replace Enver Brandt.

The return of George Whitehead on the bench must be good news for the Griquas, although maybe a little bit too late. Captain Whitehead was a late withdrawal after he broke his hand during captains practise before the Super Rugby Unlocked match against the Cell C Sharks in November 2020.

Tafel Lager Griquas: 1. Mox Mxoli, 2. Alandre van Rooyen, 3. John-Roy Jenkinson, 4. Adre Smith, 5. Cameron Lindsay, 6. Gideon van der Merwe, 7. Stefan Willemse, 8. Johan Momsen, 9. Zak Burger (Captain), 10. Tinus de Beer, 11. Eduan Keyter, 12. Andre Swarts, 13. Harlon Klaasen, 14. Daniel Kasende, 15. James Verity-Amm. Replacements: 16. CJ Conradie, 17. Bandisa Ndlovu, 18. Tijde Visser, 19. Ewan Coetzee, 20. Siba Qoma, 21. Ashlon Davids, 22. George Whitehead, 23. Ederies Arendse, 24. Andrew Beerwinkel, 25. Raegan Oranje, 26. Masixole Banda.