Fumbling Vodacom Bulls Bullied By Lyon


The Vodacom Bulls needed only one log point to advance to the Heineken Champions Cup. However, a brutal Lyon team bullied the Vodacom Bulls to score a 31-07 bonus-point win, leaving the fumbling Bulls depending on other results to advance.

Lyon dominated play in the first 20 minutes of the game. However, despite the physical domination by Lyon the Vodacom Bulls were making several unforced errors conceding 3 penalties to zero against Lyon. Lyon scored a quick try and opened a 10-00 lead after 20 minutes of play.

Lyon scored two more tries during the second quarter to deservedly lead 24-00. Lyon at this stage dominated up front which they used to score their tries against the Vodacom Bulls. Lyon at this stage was on their way to an easy win.

Both teams scored a converted try in the third quarter, however, the mistakes by the Vodacom Bulls continued as they struggled to contain a physical and straight-running Lyon.

No points were scored with the Vodacom Bulls' error count just increasing by the second. At the end of the day, Lyons walked off the pitch as the deserved 31-07 winners.

Lyon: Tries: Guillaume Marchand (2), Jean-Marc Doussain, Leo Berdeu. Conversions: Leo Berdeu (4).
Vodacom Bulls: Try: Kurt-Lee Arendse. Conversion: Johan Goosen.

How it happened:
04:09 Guillaume Marchand scored from the back of a 5m lineout-maul. (07-00)
09:26 Leo Berdeu converted a penalty for Lyon
36:40 Jean-Marc Doussain bulldoze his way over the Vodacom Bulls tryline from the back of a dominant scrum by Lyon. (17-00)
40:11 Simphiwe Matanzima (Vodacom Bulls) was sent off with a yellow card.
41:30 Guillaume Marchand scored his second try for Lyon from the back of a 5m lineout-maul. (24-00)
41:56 Kurt-Lee Arendse intercepted a loose pass by Lyon to run a good 70m to score the Vodacom Bulls' first try. (24-07)
56:36 Leo Berdeu slips through a gap to score the hosts' fourth and bonus-point try. (31-07)


Lyon: 15. Toby Arnold, 14. Josua Tuisova, 13. Josiah Maraku, 12. Thibaut Regard, 11. Ethan Dumortier, 10. Leo Berdeu, 9. Jean-Marc Doussain, 8. Jordan Taufua (c), 7. Patrick Sobela, 6. Dylan Cretin, 5. Romain Taofifenua, 4. Felix Lambey, 3. Demba Bamba, 2. Guillaume Marchand, 1. Sébastien Taofifenua. Replacements: 16. Liam Coltman, 17. Hamza Kaabèche, 18. Paulo Tafili, 19. Temo Mayanavanua, 20. Theo William, 21. Mickael Guillard, 22. Liam Rimet, 23. Kyle Godwin.

Vodacom Bulls: 15. Kurt-Lee Arendse, 14. Canan Moodie, 13. Wandisile Simelane, 12. Cornal Hendricks, 11. David Kriel, 10. Johan Goosen, 9. Embrose Papier, 8. Nizaam Carr (c), 7. Cyle Brink, 6. Marco van Staden, 5. Janko Swanepoel, 4. Ruan Vermaak, 3. Francois Klopper, 2. Bismarck Du Plessis, 1. Simphiwe Matanzima. Replacements: 16. Johann Grobbelaar, 17. Gerard Steenekamp, 18. Mornay Smith, 19. Ruan Nortje, 20. Elrigh Louw, 21. Zak Burger, 22. Chris Smith, 23. Lionel Mapoe.