FNB Wits Outplayed by Clinical FNB UCT-Ikeys


In Johannesburg, the FNB UCT Ikeys boosted their hopes of hosting a semi-final with a 47-23 win against FNB Wits.

The first half started with Wits on the attack in Ikeys’ quarter but the Ikeys defence held up. Ikeys soon broke the Wits midfield defence and scored the first converted try of the match. They soon after scored another try from a penalty line out driving maul.

Wits managed to get more control of the game with possession and territory towards the end of the second half. They repeatedly attacked the Ikeys try line with driving mauls from repeated penalty line outs and scored their first converted try.

They soon afterwards managed to launch a quick attack into the Ikeys quarter to score another converted try to level the score at 14-14. Ikeys soon fired back by scoring another try. The halftime score was 19-14 in favour of Ikeys.

The second half started with Ikeys scoring another try after outwitting the Wits defence with a short chip kick over the try line which was collected to score the try increasing their lead to 26-14.

Ikeys soon attacked the Wits try line again and a yellow card and penalty given against Wits created an opportunity for Ikeys to score an easy try to take their score to 31-14.

Another yellow card and penalty given against Wits shifted the control of the match even more in favour of Ikeys. Wits however absorbed the pressure and hit back by scoring a try against the run of play to take the score to 31-21.

Ikeys responded by scoring a converted try after a brief visit to the Wits quarter. They followed it up with another quick converted try to take the game out of Wits’ reach with 47-22 which was the final score.


FNB Wits 23 (14) – Tries: Dameon Venter, Luhle Matyolweni, Ebot Buma (1x7). Conversions: Chris Humphries (3).
FNB UCT Ikeys 47 (19) – Tries: Suleiman Hartzenberg (1x7), Keagan Blanckenberg, Reynhardt Crous, Ntokozo Makhaza, Duran Koevort, Thomas Meyer, Jason MacLeod Smith (1x7). Conversions: Duran Koevort (2), Kyle Bowman (2).
Player That Rocks: David Hayes (FNB UCT Ikeys)


FNB Wits – 15 Setshaba Mokoena, 14 Wian de Lange, 13 Luhle Matyolweni, 12 Tiaan Schutte, 11 Azi Afrika, 10 Chris Humphries, 9 Hlumelo Ndudula, 8 Cal Smid, 7 Lindokuhle Ncusane, 6 Alexander Skudder, 5 Edward White, 4 Kyle van Eyssen, 3 Ebot Buma (c), 2 Dameon Venter, 1 Jason Cloete. Replacements: 16 Dagan Meuwese, 17 Prince Mulea, 18 Franco Groenewald, 19 Franz Gerber, 20 Ziyanda Msipha, 21 Wernich Aucamp, 22 Keagan Lailvaux, 23 Siyabonga Xulu.

FNB UCT Ikeys – 15 Duran Koevort, 14 Rihaz Fredericks, 13 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 12 Rethabile Louw, 11 Ntokozo Makhaza, 10 David Hayes, 9 Imad Khan, 8 Jason MacLeod Smith, 7 Thomas Meyer, 6 Siphumezo Dyonase, 5 Mika Schubert, 4 Reynhardt Crous, 3 Keagan Glade, 2 Keagan Blanckenberg, 1 Luthando Woji (c). Replacements: 16 Alex Castle, 17 Lukhanyiso Bomela, 18 Alizwa Mngqeta, 19 Callum Whitson, 20 Matthew Hamilton, 21 Kyle Bowman, 22 Kian Davis, 23 Ruben Labuschagne.

Article by: Francois du Toit