FNB Varsity Cup – FNB Wits Bully FNB UWC


It was a near-perfect start for FNB Wits when they outsmarted newcomers FNB UWC 66-10 in Bellville at the UWC Sport Stadium. A healthy 31-10 halftime lead meant the visitors had secured the bonus point when the siren sounded.

Nine tries to a solo 38th-minute try from UWC's second rower Louan De Lange is a testament to an all-around clinical and disciplined display of rugby by the visiting side.

Relentless attacking phases by the visiting side forced the home team to make several tackles in the opening quarter of the match with loose forward Kelvin Kanenungo and scrumhalf Hassiem Pead making sure Wits got across the advantage with ease. The home side's woes were compounded when their captain Tasriq Mynhardt sustained an injury in the first half forcing him off the field.

Wits scored three tries to one in the final ten minutes of the opening stanza. Ngia Selengbe, Pead, and veteran second-rower Cal Smid added their names to the try-scoring sheet. Setshaba Mokoena kept the scoreboard ticking over with three successful conversions from his five attempts.

The visitors picked up the pace where they left it in the opening half, Grobbelaar completing a brace of tries with a try apiece coming from Kabelo Mokheti and Elizee Kwitonda. Mokoena's accuracy off the tee kept the distance between the two sides growing on the scoreboard.

As the final ten minutes of the match approached, FNB Wits crossed the 50-point mark when Kwitonda crashed over from close range.

UWC made a few promising runs but the defensive resolve and discipline from the visitors meant that they were restricted to a solo first-half try.

FNB UWC: Tries: Louan De Lange. Conversion: Conwill Conradie. Penalties: Conwill Conradie.
FNB Wits: Tries: Marno Grobbelaar (2), Kelvin Kanenungo, Ngia Selengbe, Hassiem Pead, Cal Smid, Kabelo Mokheti, Elizee Kwitonda, DeWet Fourie (2). Conversions: Setshaba Mokoena (5), Tireque Apolles.

FNB Player That Rocks: Mark Snyman (FNB Wits)


FNB UWC: 1. Hlonela Qelile, 2. James Hermann Coetzee, 3. Keanuh Cameron Michaels, 4. Michail Kasfikis, 5. Carel Van der Merwe, 6. Almore JNR Abraham Scott Kuilders, 7. Louan De Lange, 8. Romuad Nsombamanya, 9. Conwill Brooklyn Conradie, 10. Aaron Benjamin Swartz, 11. Hlomla Ncana, 12. Emile Silvis, 13. Zhaun-Jacques Johan Brynard, 14. Will Bradford Vraagom, 15. Tasriq Mynhardt.

FNB Wits: 1. Elizee Kwitonda, 2. Marno Grobbelaar, 3. Sibusiso Shongwe, 4. George Lawson St Leger Devenish, 5. Cal Smid, 6. Kelvin Kanenungo, 7. Dewet-Grant Fourie, 8. Lindokuhle Ncusane, 9. Mogamad Hassiem Pead, 10. Kabelo Mokhethi, 11. Liyema Matyolweni, 12. Mark Dilan Snyman, 13. Ngia Selengbe, 14. Dustyn Matthew Holmes, 15. Setshaba Mohlakoane Mokoena.