FNB Varsity Cup – FNB UCT Ikeys Beat UFS Shimlas In A Hard-fought Battle


FNB UCT Ikeys drew first blood in the 2024 Varsity Cup by beating FNB UFS Shimlas 38-32 in a hard-fought contest in Bloemfontein. 

The Shimlas outscored the visitors in the tries department, but it was ultimately their discipline that let them down as the left-winger for the Ikeys, Ntokozo Makhaza landed no less than seven penalties. 

The home team were the first to score with tighthead Riaan van der Merwe crashing over for an unconverted try. The team from the Mother City struck back almost immediately with a double whammy with flankers Taariq Kruger and Siphumezo Dyonase both crossing the tryline.  

Kwezi Dlamini, who is expected to do well this season, scored for the Shimlas from a quick tap, while Makhaza slotted two penalties for the visitors. 

Zane Bester’s try for Shimlas made it a one-point ball game, but Makhaza nailed another penalty for the Ikeys to hand them a 21-17 lead at the break. 

In the second stanza, starting flyhalf Ethan Wentzel and scrumhalf Jandré Nel managed to score two more tries for the hosts. It was however cancelled out by a try from the Player That Rocks, Rethabile Louw, and a further four penalties off the boot of Makhaza. 
FNB UFS Shimlas: Tries: Riaan van der Merwe, Kwezi Dlamini, Zane Bester, Ethan Wentzel, Jandré Nel. Conversations: Ethan Wentzel (2). Penalties: Bradley Giddy
FNB UCT Ikeys: Tries: Taariq Kruger, Siphumezo Dyonase, Rethabile Louw. Conversations: Ntokozo Makhaza. Penalties: Ntokozo Makhaza (7)

FNB Player That Rocks: Rethabile Louw (FNB UCT Ikeys)  


FNB UFS Shimlas: 1. Ntokozo Hlophe, 2. Liyema Mgwigwi, 3. Riaan Jacobus van der Merwe, 4. Pierre-Raymond Uys, 5. Reinier Viljoen, 6. Cornelius Hermanus Smit Volschenk, 7. Siyambuka Sobe Nakhane Ningiza, 8. Kwezi Dlamini, 9. Jandré Nel, 10. Ethan SJ Wentzel, 11. Siviwe Zondani,12. Gideon Jooste Nel, 13. Zane Bester, 14. Kirwin Curtley Du Preez, 15. Michael Annies.  

FNB UCT Ikeys: 1. Mhleli Khethuxolo Khuzwayo, 2. Keagan Blanckenberg, 3. Bryan Justin Le Roux, 4. Enos Ndiao, 5. Johan van Rhyn, 6. Siphumezo Dyonase, 7. Taariq Mohammed Kruger, 8. Laro Delport, 9. Riaan Genis, 10. Kian Davis, 11. Ntokozo Sibusiso Makhaza, 12. Joshua Boulle, 13. Rethabile Donovan Louw, 14. Luke John Burger, 15. Duran Ryan Koevort.