FNB UP-Tuks And FNB CUT Ixias Both Are Desperate For A Win In Pretoria


FNB UP-Tuks hosts FNB CUT Ixias tonight at the Tuks Stadium @ 19h00 with both teams desperate for a win.

Although TUKS is placed 4th on the 2022 Varsity Cup log they are in a must-win situation as the charging pack for the final semi-final berth is all performing well. Although playoffs without TUKS is unthinkable we may just face that in 2022.

TUKS had a great 51-19 win against a struggling UWC but need to start showing the form that made them the 2021 Varsity Cup Champions.

Maties completely outclassed CUT Ixias a week ago (52-19) and the Ixias are have a nightmare season up to date. They will still be looking for their first win of the season in Pretoria tonight.

TUKS may be the overwhelming favourites for tonight, however, ................

Tuks made only one change to their starting line-up at the back where Clyde Lewis are moved from scrumhalf to flyhalf with Chad-Lee Valentine set to make his first appearance for the hosts.

Five changes were made up front, with Divan Venter and Hardus Rothmann formin a new loosie combination with Jacobus Smit. Tiaan de Klerk and Mihlali Stamper are the new lock pairing with Ethan Burger being promoted from the bench at loosehead.

CUT Ixias made seven changes to their starting line-up Jandré de Beer (#15) and Septimus Derkesen (#12) are the changes out back while Zinedene Booysen (#10) and Xavier Swartbooi (9) is the new halfback pairing.

Jan Kotze is new on the side of the scrum with Matthew Sekele at lock and Tebogo Masemola at tight head the two other changes up front. All three players were on the bench against Maties.

FNB UP-Tuks – 15 Kabelo Mokoena, 14 Pierre Fourie, 13 Zander Reynders, 12 Lincoln Daniels (c), 11 Tharquinn Manuel, 10 Clyde Lewis, 9 Chad-Lee Valentine, 8 Divan Venter, 7 Hardus Rothmann, 6 Jacobus Smit, 5 Tiaan de Klerk, 4 Mihlali Stamper, 3 Francois Klopper, 2 Allister Williams, 1 Ethan Burger. Replacements:16 Werner Fourie, 17 André van der Merwe, 18 Daniël Wessels, 19 Orateng Koikanyang, 20 Dian Schoonees, 21 Gerado Flusk, 22 Walter Visser, 23 Ambesa Zenzile.

FNB CUT Ixias – 15 Jandré de Beer, 14 Gian Bester, 13 Christiaan Venter, 12 Septimus Derkesen, 11 Jacquin van Wyk, 10 Zinedene Booysen, 9 Xavier Swartbooi, 8 Luvuyo Ndevu (c), 7 Francois Bester, 6 Jan Kotze, 5 Kevin Strydom, 4 Matthew Sekele, 3 Tebogo Masemola, 2 Tiaan Drotske, 1 Albertus Venter. Replacements: 16 De-Angelo Williams, 17 Mamello Moshoaliba, 18 Laurence Victor, 19 Andile Mfaswe, 20 JT van der Walt, 21 Jakobus du Plessis, 22 Tsepo Malumane, 23 Floris Brand.