FNB UJ Scored Their First Victory Of The Year After Beating FNB UCT Ikeys


FNB UJ scored their first victory of this year’s tournament when they beat FNB UCT 43-24 in front of an enthusiastic home crowd in Johannesburg.

The match got off to a cracking start with Prince Nkabinde scoring the home team’s first try. UJ continued to dominate with Tengimgene Likhayaalso crossing the try line.

The Ikey Tigers fought back with Alex Castle scoring a try from a driving maul. At halftime, UJ had the upper hand with a 14-10 lead.

The Orange Army continued their impressive play in the second half, at one point building up a ten-point cushion. UCT however fought back with back-to-back tries by Enos Ndiaoto levelling the scores at 24-24 with 20 minutes left on the clock.

UJ then switched to the highest gear with tries by Francois Pretorius and Mpho Kubheka while Viljoen added insult to injury with another penalty, securing a comprehensive victory.

FNB UJ 43 (14) – Tries: Prince Nkabinde, Tengimgene Likhaya, Buhle Qaba, Francois Pretorius, Mpho Kubheka. Conversions: Joshua Viljoen (5). Penalties: Joshua Viljoen (2).
FNB UCT IKEYS24 (10) – Tries: Alex Castle, Keagan Blanckenberg, Enos Ndiao. Conversions: Notokozo Makhaza (3). Penalties: Notokoza Makhaza.
FNB Player That Rocks: Kelvin Kanenungo (UJ)


FNB UJ: 15. Malgas Rowan Hafeni, 14. Nkabinde Prince, 13. Radebe Nkondlokamthimkhulu, 12. Tyeda Indiphile, 11. Tengimgene Likhaya, 10. Viljoen Jonathan Joshua, 9. Kubheka Mpho Vincent, 8. Qaba Buhlebenkosi (Peach), 7. Ncusane Ngwekazi Khanya, 6. Kanenungo Kelvin, 5. Pretorius Francois Christiaan, 4. Bali Sinovuyo Sibabalwe, 3. Pohlmann Heiko Peter Eugene, 2. Osuagwu Darnell Jerry-Fred, 1. Kiewit Kayden Nicklo.

FNB UCT Ikeys: 15. Koevort Duran Ryan, 14. Louw Rethabile Donovan, 13. Boulle Joshua Michael, 12. Hendricks Lyle Victor, 11 Makhaza Ntokozo Sibusiso, 10. Cross Justin Charles, 9. Moos Asad, 8. MacLeod Smith Jason, 7. Ndiao Kyle Enos, 6. van der Walt Jac, 5. van Rhyn Johan, 4. Crous Reynhardt Wouter, 3. Glade Keagan, 2. Castle Alex A., 1. WojiLuthando Solomon.