FNB UCT Ikeys Had To Dig Deep Against FNB Madibaz


At the Green Mile, hooker Keagan Blanckenberg’s 75th-minute try from a lineout driving maul gave the FNB UCT Ikeys a 33-26 win against the FNB Madibaz.

 Ikeys raced into a 16-0 lead after nine minutes thanks to converted tries from fullback Kyle Cyster (point-of-origin) and No 8 Siyamthanda Jwacu. But the Ikey Tigers hit back with two tries of their own, which saw them trailing 19-14 at half-time.

FNB Madibaz scored a third try at the end of the third quarter to take the lead. The FNB Madibaz’s third try made it 26-26 with 10 minutes remaining, but it was FNB UCT who finished the game strongly to secure a hard-fought bonus-point win.

FNB UCT Ikeys: Tries: Kyle Bowman, Ruben Labuschagne, Keagan Glade, Mika Schubert, Keagan Blanckenberg. Conversions: Duran Koevort (4).
FNB Madibaz: Tries: Kyle Cyster (1x7), Siyamthanda Jwacu, Leon van der Merwe. Conversions: Sibalomzi Mqeni (3). Penalty: Sibalomzi Mqeni.
FNB Player That Rocks: Taariq Kruger (FNB UCT Ikeys)


FNB UCT Ikeys: 15 Duran Koevort, 14 Rihaz Fredericks, 13 Rethabile Louw, 12 Ruben Labuschagne, 11 Ntokozo Makhaza, 10 David Hayes, 9 Kyle Bowman, 8 Jason MacLeod Smith, 7 Taariq Kruger, 6 Callum Whitson, 5 Thomas Meyer, 4 Mika Schubert, 3 Alizwa Mngqeta, 2 Keagan Blanckenberg, 1 Luthando Woji (c). Replacements: 16 Alex Castle, 17 Seth Christian, 18 Keagan Glade, 19 Reynhardt Crous, 20 Sipho Dyonase, 21 Mogamad Khan, 22 Kian Davis, 23 Suleiman Hartzenberg.

FNB Madibaz: 15 Kyle Cyster, 14 Brandt Fields, 13 Lennox Holster, 12 Troy Delport, 11 Khakalethu Bophi, 10 Sibalomzi Mqeni, 9 Anovuyo Moyikwa, 8 Siyamthanda Jwacu, 7 Leon van der Merwe, 6 Arnouw Nel (c), 5 Dylan Halgreen, 4 Terrance Siyaya, 3 Likhona Dywili, 2 Kyle Erasmus, 1 Warwick Griffin. Replacements: 16 Marco Nortje, 17 Buhle Duruwe, 18 Endinako Kuse, 19 Umna Tokwe, 20 Alwaba Bobelo, 21 André Gerber, 22 Siphosethu Dlongodlongo, 23 Reese Cambier.