FNB Shimlas Crowned King Of Bloemfontein


In the Bloemfontein derby, FNB UFS Shimlas fought back from a 10-0 deficit to beat the FNB CUT Ixias 48-27 and consolidate their position at the top of the log.

André Tredoux’s charges have scored 154 points over the course of three games. Ultimately, they have racked up a maximum of 15 log points, and are full value for their position at the top of the standings.

That said, they were made to work for the result against a spirited FNB CUT side in a fierce Bloemfontein derby. Braam van Straaten’s side applied the pressure during the early stages and powered their way into a 10-0 lead after 16 minutes.

FNB UFS Shimlas endeavoured to play the game at a high tempo, though. They continued to run at the hosts’ defence and continued to win penalties.

Instead of kicking for goal, they tapped quickly and attempted to catch FNB CUT unawares. After spurning several chances, they breached the line via captain Thabang Mahlasi.

That score proved the catalyst for the visitors. FNB UFS Shimlas began to hold their passes, and added two more tries before the break.

FNB CUT conceded 11 penalties in the first half alone. They failed to address their discipline issues in the second stanza.

Another series of infringements culminated in a whopping three yellow cards for the hosts between the 48th and 55th minute. Jan Kotzé, Sisipho Nofuya and Kevin Strydom ended up sitting alongside one another in the sin bin.

FNB UFS Shimlas proceeded to put the 12-man FNB CUT team to the sword. They scored 17 points while the hosts were short-staffed.

Reserve hooker Wihan Marais was shown a red card for a dangerous cleanout in the 68th minute, while scrumhalf Jandré Nel received a yellow for a deliberate knockdown soon after.

By then, however, FNB UFS Shimlas had the result and the bonus point in the bag.

FNB CUT Ixias: Tries: Luvuyo Ndevu, penalty try, Teboho Rampai. Conversions: Zinedine Booysen (2). Penalties: Zinedene Booysen (2).
FNB UFS Shimlas: Tries: Thabang Mahlasi, William Moffat, Janco van Heyningen, Lourens Oosthuizen, Asande Kunene (1x7, 1x5), Lohan Potgieter, Nqobani Dlamini. Conversions: Litha Nkula (3).
FNB Player That Rocks: William Moffat (FNB UFS Shimlas)

FNB UJ – 15 Shaun-Christian Baxter, 14 Rowan Malgas, 13 Musawenkosi Tshabalala, 12 Indiphile Tyeda, 11 Likhaya Tengimfene, 10 Jonathan Viljoen, 9 Keegan Joubert, 8 Kelvin Kanenungo (co-c), 7 CJ Masuku, 6 Johannes Terblanche (co-c), 5 Brendon Pawson, 4 Philip Apea-Adu, 3 Frans Bezuidenhout, 2 Hloni Mphuthi, 1 Kayden Kiewit. Replacements: 16 Darnell Osuagwu, 17 Elizee Kwitonda, 18 Andrew Siminyu, 19 Connor van Buuren, 20 Babalo Makana, 21 Buhlebenkosi Qaba, 22 Mpho Kubheka, 23 Gerath Louw.

FNB NWU Eagles – 15 Heinrich Botha, 14 Keano Windvogel, 13 Tino Swanepoel, 12 Isrome Phatudi, 11 Pienaar van Niekerk, 10 Nivan Petersen, 9 Riaan Genis, 8 André Fouché, 7 Heinz Bertram, 6 Gustav Erlank, 5 Ruben Dreyer, 4 Marvelous Mashimbyi, 3 Sampie Swiegers (c), 2 Vernon Paulo, 1 Ruben du Plessis. Replacements: 16 Chyle van Zyl, 17 Jason Jansen, 18 Ntobeko Shezi, 19 Wihan Nel, 20 Calvin Clack, 21 Aphelele Madaka, 22 Martin Venter, 23 Keenan Twigg.