FNB NWU Eagles Shock FNB Shimlas In Bloemfontein


Having begun their 2022 campaign with three impressive victories, the FNB UFS Shimlas suffered a second consecutive defeat when they went down 32-22 to the FNB NWU Eagles in Bloemfontein.

Two penalties from flyhalf Nivan Petersen and two converted tries by outside centre Tino Swanepoel gave the visitors a commanding 20-0 lead after half an hour. The Free State students responded with two late first-half tries to trail by 12-20.

An early in the second half that slashed the deficit to just three points. However, Shimlas conceded a penalty try when collapsing an Eagles’ lineout driving maul in the 55th minute and then lost replacement prop Blaine Golden (red card) and flyhalf George Lourens (yellow card) in quick succession.

FNB NWU Eagles wing Naiden Jaarts’ 73rd-minute try put the result beyond doubt, although FNB UFS Shimlas did score their fourth try in the final play of the game to earn a bonus point.

FNB UFS Shimlas: Tries: Jooste Nel (2), Litha Nkula, Lourens Oosthuizen. Conversion: Litha Nkula.
FNB NWU Eagles: Tries: Tino Swanepoel (2), penalty try, Naiden Jaarts. Conversions: Nivan Petersen (2). Penalties: Nivan Petersen (2).
FNB Player That Rocks: Riaan Genis (FNB NWU Eagles)


FNB UFS Shimlas: 15 Litha Nkula, 14 Luyanda Mkhize, 13 Janco van Heyningen, 12 Jooste Nel, 11 Asanda Kunene, 10 George Lourens, 9 Chadd Adams, 8 Ruwald van der Merwe, 7 Lourens Oosthuizen, 6 Thabo Ndimande, 5 Thabang Mahlasi (c), 4 Pierre Uys, 3 JW Meades, 2 Carl Wijburg, 1 Melusi Mthabela. Replacements: 16 Armin Jooste, 17 Loyiso Peteni, 18 Blaine Golden, 19 Ruben Cronjé, 20 Lohan Potgieter, 21 Jandré Nel, 22 Zane Bester, 23 Cham Zondeki.

FNB NWU Eagles: 15 Heinrich Botha, 14 Keano Windvogel, 13 Tino Swanepoel, 12 Isrome Phatudi, 11 Naiden Jaarts, 10 Nivan Petersen, 9 Riaan Genis, 8 André Fouché, 7 Heinz Bertram, 6 Chris Vermaak, 5 Ruben Dreyer, 4 Wihan Nel, 3 Sampie Swiegers (c), 2 Vernon Paulo, 1 Jason Jansen. Replacements: 16 Chyle van Zyl, 17 Ruben du Plessis, 18 Waldo Crous, 19 Marvelous Mashimbyi, 20 Gustav Erlank, 21 Sylvester Hassien, 22 Martin Venter, 23 Elzandro Fredericks.