FNB NWU Eagles Brilliant Second Half Secure Win Against FNB CUT Ixias


The FNB Eagles scored two late tries to beat a gutsy FNB CUT Ixias team 33-14 in Bloemfontein.

With rain pouring down throughout the match, both sides played within themselves while making good use of their forwards. The hosts took a 14-7 lead late in the first half thanks to two driving maul tries that saw their backs rush in to help the forwards get over the line.

But the Eagles, who opened the scoring with a maul try from lock Marvelous Mashimbyi, hit back just before the break when winger Tino Swanepoel scored from a kick-pass. FNB NWU’s other wing, Keenan Twigg, finished off a backline move at the end of the third quarter, before scrumhalf Sylvester Hassien and No 8 André Fouché struck late to secure a bonus-point win that keeps the Eagles’ semi-final hopes alive.


FNB CUT Ixias 14 (14) – Tries: Christiaan Venter, Septimus Derkesen. Conversions: Floris Brand (2).
FNB NWU Eagles 33 (12) – Tries: Marvelous Mashimbyi, Tino Swanepoel, Keenan Twigg, Sylvester Hassien, André Fouché. Conversions: Martin Venter (4).
Player That Rocks: André Fouché (FNB NWU Eagles)


FNB CUT Ixias – 15 David Cary, 14, Christiaan Venter, 13 Jandre de Beer, 12 Septimus Derkesen, 11 Jacquin van Wyk, 10 Floris Brand, 9 Xavier Swartbooi, 8 Ulrich Stander, 7 Luvuyo Ndevu (c), 6 Jan Kotze, 5 Kevin Strydom, 4 Matthew Sekele, 3 Sisipho Nofuya , 2 Tiaan Drotske, 1 Albertus Venter. Replacements: 16, Nicolas Du Buisson 17, Tebogo Masemola 18 De Angelo Williams, 19 Andile Mfaswe, 20 Francois Bester, 21 Jakobus du Plessis, 22 Gian Bester , 23 Karabo Maqeba.

FNB NWU Eagles – 15 Pienaar van Niekerk, 14 Keenan Twigg, 13 Theunis Pretorius, 12 Isrome Phatudi, 11 Tino Swanepoel, 10 Martin Venter, 9 Sylvester Hassien, 8 André Fouché, 7 Kagiso Woodbridge, 6 Chris Vermaak, 5 Ruben Dreyer, 4 Marvelous Mashimbyi, 3 Sampie Swiegers (c), 2 Vernon Paulo, 1 Ruben du Plessis. Replacements: 16 Chyle van Zyl, 17 Jason Jansen, 18 Xongani Ngobeni, 19 Wihan Nel, 20 Gustav Erlank, 21 Riaan Genis, 22 Nivan Petersen, 23 Heinrich Botha.