FNB Maties Bring In The Big Guns For Unbeaten FNB Wits


FNB Maties will be playing the first time in front of their fans against FNB Wits in the 2022 Varsity Cup on Monday @ 19h00.

However, that will not be their only motivation as they would want to return to their winning ways after going down (28-50) to a rampant Shimlas in Bloemfontein last week.

An unbeaten Wits side will travel to Stellenbosch after victories against Madibaz (31-20) and CUT (20-18). They showed some brilliant fighting form in their come from behind win against CUT and will need that fighting spirit against Maties.

Maties have called in the big guns to get their season back on track and made several changes to their starting line-up.

At the back, a new centre pairing in Waqar Solaan and Brendan Venter will start with Adriaan van der Bank and Thomas Bursey the new half-back pairing. Van der Bank will also be the captain for the evening.

Upfront, five changes were made by head coach Norman Jordaan. Simon Muller and Siyabonga Matanda is the new face at the loosies, while Matt Gray is promoted from the bench at lock in place of Marco van Rhyn. Matimu Manganyi, Sean Swart and Vernon Matongo is the brand new front row.

Wits only made two changes to their starting line-up. At the back Thando Ngcelwane replaces Wian de Lange at wing while Franz Gerber is promoted from the bench at lock, replacing Kyle van Eyssen.

FNB Maties: 15 Nevaldo Fleurs, 14 Titus Marcqiewn, 13 Waqar Solaan, 12 Brendan Venter, 11 Mike Mavovana, 10 Adriaan van der Bank (c), 9 Thomas Bursey, 8 Simon Miller, 7 De Wet Marais, 6 Siyabonga Matanda, 5 Matt Gray, 4 Juan Beukes, 3 Matimu Manganyi, 2 Sean Swart, 1 Vernon Matongo. Replacements: 16 Chris Rossouw, 17 Rhynardt Rijnsburger, 18 Edward Combrinck, 19 Hendrik du Toit, 20 Gift Dlamini, 21 Mckyle Volmoer, 22 Taigh Schoor, 23 Sibabalwe Xamlashe.

FNB Wits: 15 Setshaba Mokoena, 14 Thando Ngcelwane, 13 Yanga Hlalu, 12 Tiaan Schutte, 11 Azi Afrika, 10 Chris Humphries, 9 Hlumelo Ndudula, 8 Cal Smid, 7 Lindokuhle Ncusane, 6 Mark Snyman, 5 Edward White, 4 Franz Gerber, 3 Ebot Buma (c), 2 Prince Mulea, 1 Charles Gamhiwa. Replacements: 16 Dagan Meuwese, 17 Jason Cloete, 18 Franco Groenewald, 19 Ziyanda Msipha, 20 Alexander Skudder, 21 Wernich Aucamp, 22 Keagan Lailvaux.