FNB Madibaz Will Not Be Easy Prey In Gqeberha Against FNB UJ


FNB Madibaz will host FNB UJ tonight at 19h00 in Gqerberha in the bottom of the log fixture.

The Madibaz will be on a high after beating CUT Ixias (36-26) two weeks ago and followed that up with a big scare to Varsity Cup log leaders UCT Ikeys (26-33) in Cape Town. Unfortunately, all the excitement did not do much for changing the fact that they are currently the "favourites" to be relegated to the Varsity Cup Shield next year.

Their opponents are in a similar position regarding the relegation, however, UJ could escape relegation if they can win two or three games. UJ comes of a last-minute win against Wits (27-24) and were extremely competitive this whole season, even against the top teams.

The Madibaz made three changes to their starting line-up. The two changes at the back see Jade Stoffels return to the wing while Reece Cambier at the outside centre was promoted from the bench. Lock Umna Tokwe replaces Terrance Siyaya in the only change upfront.

UJ made six changes to their starting line-up. Four changes were made at the back. Likhaya Tengimfene and Ilunga Mukendi are the new wings, with Riaan de Jager coming in at twelve. Mpho Kubheka was promoted from the bench at scrumhalf.

Connor van Buuren at the side of the scrum and Babalo Makana at the lock were both promoted from the bench.

FNB Madibaz – 15 Kyle Cyster, 14 Jade Stoffels, 13 Reese Cambier, 12 Troy Delport, 11 Khakalethu Bophi, 10 Sibalomzi Mqeni, 9 Anovuyo Moyikwa, 8 Siyamthanda Jwacu, 7 Leon van der Merwe, 6 Arnouw Nel (c), 5 Dylan Halgreen, 4 Umna Tokwe, 3 Likhona Dywili, 2 Kyle Erasmus, 1 Warwick Griffin. Replacements: 16 Buhle Duruwe, 17 Endinako Kuse, 18 Aqhamile Limba, 19 Terrance Siyaya, 20 Alwaba Bobelo, 21 Wayne Moss, 22 Siphosethu Dlongodlongo, 23 Luciano Jones.

FNB UJ – 15 Shaun-Christian Baxter, 14 Likhaya Tengimfene, 13 Musawenkosi Tshabalala, 12 Riaan de Jager, 11 Ilunga Mukendi, 10 Jonathan Viljoen, 9 Mpho Kubheka, 8 Kelvin Kanenungo (co-c), 7 Connor van Buuren, 6 Johannes Terblanche (co-c), 5 Brendon Pawson, 4 Babalo Makana, 3 Frans Bezuidenhout, 2 Darnell Osuagwu, 1 Kayden Kiewit. Replacements: 16 Elizee Kwitonda, 17 Ntokozo Hlophe, 18 Andrew Siminyu, 19 Philip Apea-Adu, 20 Siyemukela Ndlovu, 21 Buhlebenkosi Qaba, 22 Kgothatso Sono, 23 Rowan Malgas.