EPCR Challenge Cup – Discipline Cost Toyota Cheetahs Against Section Paloise


The teenage Section Paloise flyhalf, Axel Desperes kicked 16 points, four penalties and two conversions,  as his team wrapped up a comprehensive 33-20 bonus-point win in Amsterdam against the Toyota Cheetahs.

A pair of quickfire tries put the TOP 14 side in a great position, with full-back Jack Maddocks and outside centre Emilien Gailleton crossing in the opening quarter of an hour - Desperes converting both as well as adding a penalty.

However, Toyota Cheetahs began to assert themselves from that point onward, scoring two tries of their own courtesy of wing Munier Hartzenberg and no.8 Jeandre Rudolph - the hosts trailing 17-12 at the interval.

The United Rugby Championship club started to showcase their skills in the second half, hooker Louis van der Westhuizen scoring their third try just before the hour mark,

But a hat-trick of second-half penalties from Desperes - followed by a late try from scrum-half Dan Robson converted by replacement Thibault Debaes - put Section Paloise out of sight.

Toyota Cheetahs visit the Stade Charles Mathon next Saturday for a Round 4 meeting with Oyonnax Rugby. Section Paloise host Zebre Parma at Stade du Hameau the same day to close their Pool 1 campaign.

Toyota Cheetahs: Tries: Munier Hartzenberg, Jeandre Rudolph, Louis van der Westhuizen. Conversion: Ruan Pienaar. Penalty: Ruan Pienaar.
Section Paloise: Tries: Jack Maddocks, Emilien Gailleton, Dan Robson. Conversions: Axel Desperes (2), Thibault Debaes. Penalties: Axel Desperes (4).


Toyota Cheetahs: 15 Tapiwa Mafura, 14 Munier Hartzenberg, 13 Evardi Boshoff, 12 Reinhardt Fortuin, 11 Cohen Jasper, 10 George Lourens, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Jeandré Rudolph, 7 Friedle Olivier, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Victor Sekekete (captain), 4 Rynier Bernardo, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Louis van der Westhuizen, 1 Schalk Ferreira. Replacements: 16 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 17 Alulutho Tshakweni, 18 Hencus van Wyk, 19 Carl Wegner, 20 Daniel Maartens, 21 Sibabalo Qoma, 22 Rewan Kruger, 23 Ali Mgijima.

Section Paloise: 15 Jack Maddocks, 14 Thomas Carol, 13 Emillien Gailleton, 12 Nathan Decron, 11 Aminiasi Tuimaba, 10 Axel Desperes, 9 Dan Robson, 8 Reece Hewat, 7 Mehdi Tlili, 6 Martin Puech (captain), 5 Fabrice Metz, 4 Guillaume Ducat, 3 Guram Papidze, 2 Romain Ruffenach, 1 Facundo Gigena. Replacements: 16 Lucas Rey, 17 Remi Seneca, 18 Nicolas Corato, 19 Hugo Auradou, 20 Paulo Pelesasa, 21 Thomas Souverbie, 22 Thibault Debaes, 23 Samuel Ezeala.