Encouraging Signs At DHL Newland Pre Season Workout


A wider DHL Stormers squad continued their phased return to play with a full work-out of three 20-minute chukkas at DHL Newlands on Friday.

There were some magic moments from both the Boulders Beach Penguins and the Devil’s Peak Dassies, the two equal strength 30-man squads that were used for the training exercise in the build-up to Vodacom SuperFan Saturday next week.

The rugby in the first chukka was absorbing, with very few dropped balls and as few missed tackles, leading to long periods of play to test the fitness of the players.

Youngsters Nama Xaba and Tristan Leyds caught the eye early on, with Xaba winning a vital turnover and Leyds hitting a few gaps and fielding the ball tidily at the back for the Penguins.

Centre Dan du Plessis also made an impact with the ball-in-hand and he powered his way down the touchline in front of an empty grandstand at DHL Newlands to cross for the only try of the first chukka.

The second chukka saw the first series of changes, as the two extended squads rotated through, to get all the players on the field.

There were some big hits and tough, physical exchanges with both defences holding up well on a cool autumn day at DHL Newlands.

A light rain started falling at the start of the third chukka, but that did not stop some good flowing phases which eventually resulted in loose forward De Wet Marais scoring in the southern Railway Stand corner.

Young Jason Alexander powered his way over for a try next to the poles and then added another out wide shortly afterwards as the Penguins stretched their wings.

The Dassies had the final say with a late try, but the Penguins had outscored them by three tries to two in the end of a good tussle.

Boulders Beach Penguins: Steven Kitshoff, Scarra Ntubeni, Neethling Fouche, Salmaan Moerat, Chris van Zyl, Nama Xaba, Ernst van Rhyn, Juarno Augustus, Herschel Jantjies, Damian Willemse, Angelo Davids, Rikus Pretorius, Dan du Plessis, Leolin Zas, Tristan Leyds, Dian Bleuler, Jason Alexander, Frans Malherbe, Ben-Jason Dixon, Simon Muller, Matthew Cordy, Thomas Bursey, Christopher Schreuder, Siba Xamlashe, Brendan Venter, Mnombo Zwellendaba, Kade Wolhuter.

Devil’s Peak Dassies: Leon Lyons, Bongi Mbonambi, Sazi Sandi, David Meihuizen, JD Schickerling, Siya Kolisi, Hannes Gouws, Jaco Coetzee, Godlen Masimla, Tim Swiel, Seabelo Senatla, Cornel Smit, Matt More, Sihle Njezula, Warrick Gelant, Kwenzo Blose, Josh Muller, Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, Dylan de Leeuw, De Wet Marais, Jarrod Taylor, Paul de Wet, Juan Mostert, Abner van Reenen, Lyle Hendricks, Michal Hazner, .Ryno Eksteen.