Emirates Lions Will Need To Deliver A Top-class Display Against Glasgow Warriors


The Glasgow Warriors and Emirates Lions are both coming off big-scoring victories in their EPCR Challenge Cup clashes last week, and they will enter their quarter-final on Saturday at 21:00 (SA Time) at the Scotstoun Stadium, Glasgow with confidence.

With Glasgow entering the clash unbeaten, however, the Johannesburgers will be wary of the fact that they need to deliver a top-class display to knock the hosts out of the competition on their home patch.

The Emirates Lions will, however, draw comfort from the fact that Bath managed to register a draw against the Warriors at home, which cost them a full house of victories this season.

Glasgow will look to build on their encouraging attack in which they scored 180 points in five matches and their extra victory when they take the field, but they will be careful of writing off the Emirates Lions, who have scored 149 points and conceded two fewer.

According to the EPCR statistics for this season, Glasgow Warriors have made near double the number of passes that the Lions have. The Warriors have made 810 passes while the Lions have only made 450.

Glasgow also gained more metres with 2204 in comparison to the Lions' 1665 metres. Glasgow Warriors have also scored more tries with 27 (11 of them being in last weekend’s game) with the Lions scoring 18.

The clash between the two sides is set to be a tough one with both teams eager to reach the next stage of the Challenge Cup.

But with a semi-final place on the line and everything to play for, it could prove to be a tight tussle.

Ivan van Zyl, head coach of the Emirates Lions made two forced changes to his line-up for their European Challenge Cup against Glasgow Warriors.

Marius Louw will again captain the squad with Jaco Kriel returning from injury to start on the flank in the place of the suspended Emmanuel Tshituka. The only other change is at lock where Ruben Schoeman coming in for injured Reinhard Nothnagel while Ruan Delport is cover on the bench.

Glasgow Warriors Head Coach Franco Smith has named a starting XV showing five changes from last weekend’s record-breaking victory over the Dragons at Scotstoun, as his side goes in search of a European semi-final place for the first time in club history.

Three of the alterations come at the coal face, as an all-Scotland front-row of Jamie Bhatti, George Turner and Zander Fagerson come into the starting lineup to take on the men from Johannesburg.

Fresh from making his 100th appearance for the club last weekend, Scott Cummings continues his partnership with Richie Gray in the second-row.

Matt Fagerson comes back into the starting XV to replace Sione Vailanu, with Rory Darge reverting to openside in a back-row completed by number eight Jack Dempsey.

George Horne and Domingo Miotti continue together in the half-backs, the former having contributed 21 of Glasgow’s 73 points against the Dragons last weekend.

Sione Tuipulotu and Huw Jones are once more paired in the centres, Jones having been one of the six players to cross the whitewash in Glasgow colours on Saturday evening.

After an impressive showing on the wing in the win over Munster a fortnight ago, Jamie Dobie is once again selected in the number 11 shirt, joining club captain Kyle Steyn and full-back Ollie Smith in the outside backs.

Last weekend’s history-maker Johnny Matthews rotates to the bench to accommodate Turner, the five-try hooker joined by Nathan McBeth and Simon Berghan as the front-row replacements.

JP du Preez and Lewis Bean are again selected amongst a six-two split of forwards and backs amongst the replacements, with Thomas Gordon recovering from a hip injury that sidelined him for the win over the Dragons to take the number 21 shirt.

The backs are covered by Ali Price and Tom Jordan, the former coming back into the matchday 23 after being rested for last weekend’s victory.


Glasgow Warriors: 15. Oliver Smith, 14. Kyle Steyn (c), 13. Huw Jones, 12. Sione Tuipulotu, 11. Jamie Dobie, 10. Domingo Miotti, 9. George Horne, 8. Jack Dempsey, 7. Rory Darge, 6. Matt Fagerson, 5. Richie Gray, 4. Scott Cummings, 3. Zander Fagerson, 2. George Turner, 1. Jamie Bhatti. Replacements: 16. Johnny Matthews, 17. Nathan McBeth, 18. Simon Berghan, 19. Jean-Pierre du Preez, 20. Lewis Bean, 21. Tom Gordon, 22. Ali Price, 23. Tom Jordan.

Emirates Lions: 15. Quan Horn, 14. Sibahle Maxwane, 13. Manuel Rass, 12. Marius Louw (c), 11. Edwill van der Merwe, 10. Gianni Lombard, 9. Sanele Nohamba, 8. Francke Horn, 7. Ruan Venter, 6. Jacobus Kriel, 5. Ruben Schoeman, 4. Willem Alberts, 3. Asenathi Ntlabakanye, 2. Pieter Botha, 1. Jean-Pierre Smith. Replacements: 16. Morné Brandon, 17. Rhynardt Rijnsburger, 18. Ruan Dreyer, 19. Ruan Delport, 20. Travis Gordon, 21. Morné van den Berg, 22. Rynhardt Jonker, 23. Andries Coetzee.