Emirates Lions Cruise To 1st Win Of Super Rugby Unlocked

Photo Credit: Speedshots.co.za

The Emirates Lions played their first Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked at home against the Tafel Lager Griquas and outplayed the men from Kimberly with 9 tries to 4 to win 61-31.

The Lions started the game like a house on fire to lead 14-0 at the end of the first quarter. However, the Lions wasted several try-scoring opportunities with aimless kicking as well as errors on the attack.

Although the Griquas got to see more of the ball during the second quarter the Lions continued their dominance to end the first half 28-3 in the lead after they scored four unanswered tries.

The second half started like the first ended when the Lions scored their fifth try to lead 35-3. With 35 minutes to go in the second half, the sides started to score tries almost at will. Two tries per team followed with the Lions still in the lead with 42-17 with 20 minutes to go.

The try fest continued during the last 20 minutes of the game. The Lions outscored the Griquas with 3 tries to 2 in the final quarter to win 61-31.

Emirates Lions: Tries: Courtnall Skosan (3), Dan Kriel, Stean Pienaar, MJ Pelser, Jaco Visagie, Wandisile Simelane, Reinhard Nothnagel. Conversions: Elton Jantjies (8)
Tafel Lager Griquas: Tries: Zak Burger, HJ Luus, James Verity-Amm, Tinus de Beer. Conversions: George Whitehead (4). Penalty: George Whitehead

Emirates Lions: 15 Gianni Lombard; 14 Stean Pienaar, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 Courtnall Skosan; 10 Elton Jantjies (captain), 9 Morné van den Berg; 8 Len Massyn, 7 Vincent Tshituka, 6 MJ Pelser, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Ruben Schoeman, 3 Carlu Sadie, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Sti Sithole. Replacements: 16 PJ Botha, 17 Ruan Dreyer, 18 Jannie du Plessis, 19 Reinhard Nothnagel, 20 Jaco Kriel, 21 Ross Cronjé, 22 Burger Odendaal, 23 Tiaan Swanepoel.

Tafel Lager Griquas: 15 James Verity-Amm, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Harlon Klaasen, 12 André Swarts, 11 Eduan Keyter, 10 George Whitehead (captain), 9 Zak Burger, 8 Carl Els, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Adré Smith, 4 Mzwanele Zito, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 HJ Luus, 1 Andrew Beerwinkel. Replacements: 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Mox Mxoli, 18 John-Roy Jenkinson, 19 Johan Momsen, 20 Ewan Coetzee, 21 Theo Maree, 22 Tinus de Beer, 23 Masixole Banda, 24 Bandisa Ndlovu, 25 CJ Velleman, 26 Johnathan Francke.