DHL Western Province u/20s Clash With Toyota Free State u/20 Have New Importance


DHL Western Province u/20 will host the Toyota Free State u/20 today @ 13h00 t the City Park Stadium in Athlone, Cape Town. This match's importance has doubled after the Cell C Sharks u/20s ended the Lions u/20s unbeaten record. Suddenly all of the teams except for Eastern Province still have a chance to qualify for the SARU u/20 Cup.

Toyota Free State u/20s comes off a loss (17-24) against the Leopards u/20s while Western Province u/20s suffered a close loss against the Lions u/20s. Bith teams lost one match in this year's competition and another loss could severely affect their chance to qualify for the final.

The Cheetahs are struggling upfront with their lineouts particular "not up to scratch" and should once again be dominated upfront which will make it difficult to win against DHL Western Province u/20. 

Captain Armand Maritz is back to lead DHL Western Province u/20. Maritz’s return sees Ethan Snyman move to blindside flank, with the only other change to the pack at hooker where Gustav Laubscher gets an opportunity.

The only change to the backline sees Eagon van der Rheede start on the right-wing.

DHL Western Province U20 Head Coach Labeeb Levy said that his side are focused on returning to winning ways at home.

“We have not made many changes to the team as we want to start building these combinations and creating some momentum.

“We are back home at City Park and want to make the most of that advantage,” he said.

Toyota Free State u/20 head coach Henley du Plessis made five changes to his starting line-up.

Three changes were made at the back with Matt Golden replacing Leyton Valentine at fullback. Adielson Gouveia is new on the wing with Carl Kleynhans in on the outside centre for Chad Oppelt who drops to the bench.

Dylan Lampbrecht replaces Wela Takata at the openside flank, with Takata who drops to the bench. Rubel Windell replaces Jan Hendrik Bessenger at loosehead with Bessenger also dropping to the bench.


DHL Western Province u/20: 15 Luke Burger, 14 Eagon van der Rheede, 13 Ethan James, 12 Hofmeyr Retief, 11 Paschal Ekeji, 10 Sacha Mngomezulu, 9 FC Fourie, 8 Armand Maritz, 7 Ethan Snyman, 6 Paul de Villiers, 5 Hendrik Sieberhagen, 4 Daniel Louw, 3 Corne Weilbach, 2 Gustav Laubscher, 1 Lamla Nunu. Replacements: 16 Nande Moses, 17 Yannick Marais, 18 Liam Sproston, 19 Bilaal Moerat, 20 Carlos Da Costa, 21 Jacques Theron, 22 Jonathan Roche, 23 Melbirt Van der Spuy.

Toyota Free State u/20: 15. Matt Golden, 14. Adielson Gouveia, 13. Carl Kleynhans, 12. Emile Kotze, 11. Jacobus Jaquin, 10. Juan Smith, 9. Juan Dee Olivier, 8. Danston Cloete, 7. Stefan Nortje, 6. Dylan Lampbrecht, 5. Zander van den Berg, 4. Hanro Potgieter, 3. Laurence Victor, 2. Ronaldo Ismail, 1. Ruben Windell. Replacements: 16. Duan Ludik, 17. Jan Hendrik Bessenger, 18. Aviwe Mpepo, 19. Ulrich Bekker, 20. Wela Takata, 21. CJ Herholdt, 22. Chad Oppelt, 23. Dwayne Pharo.