DHL Western Province u/20 Sent Valke u/20 Home With The SA Rugby u/20 Cup Wooden Spoon


DHL Western Province u/20 hosted the Valke u/20s on Saturday in Cape Town and won a one-sided encounter 45-11 to send the Valke u/20s back home with the wooden spoon of the 2023 SA Rugby u/20 Cup.

The DHL Western Province u/20s moved up to the 4th spot on the log with 11 log points, however, the Toyota Cheetahs u/20s have one point less but have a game in hand.

The Valke u/20s have lost all their games up to date and will follow the same road as the Easter Province u/20s in 2022. However, this year we can not even claim that it is in the interest of transformation as the bulk of the players that represented the Valke u/20s comes from the Pretoria rugby club Centurion according to the Blue Bulls President Willem Strauss. There should be no place in South Africa for private initiatives to hijack development rugby for their own gain, where money robs kids of a fair chance in life with the money and blessings of SA Rugby.

The DHL Western Province led 21-03 in the first half and continued their fine form during the second half to add another four tries to outscore their opposition with seven tries to one.

DHL Western Province u/20: Luca Bakkes, Zachary Porthen, Imad Khan, J'que Huckins, Damian Markus (2), Thaaqib Ryland. Conversions: Imad Khan (5).
Valke u/20s: Try: Dylan du Plessis. Penalties: Morne Scheepers (2).

DHL Western Province u/20: 15 Diego Cupido, 14 Joel Leotlala, 13 Ulrich Wahl, 12 Damian Marcus, 11 J’que Huckins, 10 Alex Vermeulen, 9 Imad Khan, 8 Eely Peters, 7 Dante Burger, 6 Paul de Villiers (captain), 5 Hennie Sieberhagen, 4 Andre Goedhals, 3 Zachary Porthen, 2 Luca Bakkes, 1 Matthew Beckett. Replacements: 16 Tian Vorster, 17 Wilbur Loubser, 18 Mhleli Khuzwayo, 19 Patric Kitete, 20 Corbin Benjamin, 21 FC Fourie, 22 Jared Africa, 23 Thaaqib Ryland.

Valke u/20: 15. Juandre Nel, 14. Thato Jones, 13. Natie Jansen Van Rensburg, 12. Brenden Venter, 11. Slade Jacobs, 10. Morne Scheepers, 9. Kristoff Smith, 8. George Groenwald, 7. Dumpie Gouws, 6. Kwagga Nel, 5. Joe Losper, 4. Langes Corneluis, 3. Hermann Coetzee, 2. Francios Odendaal, 1. Juan Ryan. Replacements: 16. Ishmael Malatji, 17. Dylan du Plessis, 18. Shalon Martins, 19. Mpho Ramahala, 20. Werner Griessel, 21. Evan Heerden, 22. Danny van Staden, 23. Junior Muyambo.