DHL Western Province Name Strong Team To Travel To Johannesburg For Currie Cup Season Opener


Fullback Clayton Blommetjies will make his debut for DHL Western Province against Fidelity ADT Lions in Johannesburg on Saturday.

The DHL Western Province team will be captained by lock Ernst van Rhyn in the Currie Cup opener, which kicks off at 15h35 on Saturday at Emirates Airline Park.

Blommetjies is joined in the back three by wings Angelo Davids and Duncan Saal, with the experienced Juan de Jongh linking up with Jean-Luc du Plessis in midfield.

Kade Wolhuter will have Godlen Masimla as his halfback partner to round out a dangerous backline.

Up front hooker Scarra Ntubeni will have props Kwenzo Blose and Lee-Marvin Mazibuko start on either side of him, while Van Rhyn is joined by Connor Evans in the second row.

The loose trio will see flanks Marcel Theunissen and Ben-Jason Dixon line up alongside powerful No.8 Keke Morabe.

There are also potential DHL Western Province senior debuts for lock Dylan de Leeuw, flank Louwan Horn, centre Bruce Sherwood and utility back Suleiman Hartzenberg from the replacements bench.

DHL Western Province Head Coach John Dobson said that the focus this week has been on making the most of the considerable talent in the matchday squad.

“It has been a good training week, with great energy for the start of the Currie Cup.

“We have some incredibly talented players going up to Joburg, so the challenge for us will be to ensure that we make the most of that and get the competition off to a positive start,” he said.

DHL Western Province: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Angelo Davids, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 11 Duncan Saal, 10 Kade Wolhuter, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Keke Morabe, 7 Ben-Jason Dixon, 6 Marcel Theunissen, 5 Connor Evans, 4 Ernst van Rhyn (captain), 3 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Kwenzo Blose. Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Dylan de Leeuw, 20 Louwan Horn, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Bruce Sherwood, 23 Suleiman Hartzenberg.