DHL Western Province Change Three For Trip To Pretoria


Juan de Jongh will make his return from injury for DHL Western Province in the Carling Currie Cup encounter with the Vodacom Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Wednesday.

The experienced centre comes straight into the starting line-up for the North-South clash, which kicks off at 20h00 on Wednesday in Pretoria.

Apart from De Jongh’s inclusion at outside centre there is just one other change in the backline, with Timothy Swiel starting at flyhalf.

There is just one change to the forward pack, with Sazi Sandi lining up at tighthead prop.

DHL Western Province Head Coach Jerome Paarwater said that the continuity in selection is a major boost as they head up to Pretoria.

“It is very helpful to have the same combinations in place, especially with a player of Juan’s experience coming in as well.

“We will give it a full go up at Loftus and the players are looking forward to the challenge,” he said.

DHL Western Province: 15 Tristan Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Cornel Smit, 11 Angelo Davids, 10 Timothy Swiel, 9 Godlen Masimla, 8 Keke Morabe, 7 Marcel Theunissen, 6 Nama Xaba (captain), 5 Connor Evans, 4 Ben-Jason Dixon, 3 Sazi Sandi, 2 JJ Kotze, 1 Kwenzo Blose. Replacements: 16 Lukhanyo Vokozela, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19 Simon Miller, 20 Jarrod Taylor, 21 Bobby Alexander, 22 Kade Wolhuter, 23 Mnombo Zwelendaba.