DHL Stormers Secure Win Against Vodacom Bulls After 10 Minute Blitzkrieg


The biggest rivalry in South African rugby resumed when the DHL Stormers faced the Vodacom Bulls in a brilliant advertisement for rugby. A blitzkrieg by the DHL Stormers in the second half when they scored 21 unanswered points secured a well-deserved bonus-point 37-27 win.

The first quarter was a physical arm wrestle with a yellow card shown to the Vodacom Bulls combined with two converted penalties by the DHL Stormers which gave the DHL Stormers a well-deserved 06-00 lead after 20 minutes of war.

Both sides stepped up the pace in the second quarter with the momentum shifting to the Vodacom Bulls that levelled the score just before the time ran out in the first half.

Ten minutes of brilliance resulted in three unanswered tries by the DHL Stormers which opened up a 21-point lead. The Vodacom Bulls did revert back to their forward-dominated gameplan and started to wrestle back the control of the match during the last 5 odd minutes of the third quarter.

A lot of action and excitement in the fourth quarter and although the Vodacom Bulls scored two tries to the converted penalty of the DHL Stormers, the DHL Stormers were the well-deserved 37-27 winners.

DHL Stormers: Tries: Penalty try, Joseph Dweba, Suleiman Hartzenberg, Leolin Zass. Conversions: Manie Libbok (3). Penalties: Manie Libbok (3)
Vodacom Bulls: Tries: Nizaam Carr, Marco van Staden, Bismarck du Plessis. Conversions: Johan Goosen (2), Chris Sith. Penalties: Johan Goosen (2).

How it happened:
03:19 Manie Libbok converted a penalty for the DHL Stormers. (03-00)
10:17 Manie Libbok converted a second penalty for the DHL Stormers. (06-00)
11:53 Marco Van Staden (Vodacom Bulls) was sent off with a yellow card.
20:51 Johan Goosen converted a penalty for the Vodacom Bulls. (06-03)
23:19 Penalty try awarded to the DHL Stormers. (13-03)
23:19 Eldrich Louw (Vodacom Bulls) was shown a yellow card.
25:50 Nizaam Carr score in the corner after he caught a brilliant cross-kick from Johan Goosen. (13-10)
38:28 Johan Goosen converted a penalty for the Vodacom Bulls. (13-13)
48:35 Joseph Dweba steamroll his way over the tryline to score the DHL Stormers' second try. (20-13)
49:45 Suleiman Hartzenberg scored a brilliant try for the DHL Stormers. Brilliant interplay by the DHL Stormers that started in their own half. (27-13)
53:17 Leolin Zass scored a brilliant bonus-point try for the DHL Stormers after brilliant work by Manie Libbok. (34-13)
63:19 Marco van Staden powered his way over the DHL Stormers tryline. The Vodacom Bulls reverted to their tradinional rugby with the pressure eventually paying off. (34-20)
71:44 Manie Libbok converted a penalty for the DHL Stormers. (37-20)
78:27 Bismarck du Plessis scored the Vodacom Bulls' third try. (37-27)


DHL Stormers: 15. Damian Willemse, 14. Angelo Davids, 13. Suleiman Hartzenberg, 12. Dan du Plessis, 11. Leolin Zas, 10. Manie Libbok, 9. Paul de Wet, 8. Hacjivah Dayimani, 7. Willie Engelbrecht, 6. Deon Fourie, 5. Marvin Orie, 4. Ben-Jason Dixon, 3. Frans Malherbe, 2. Joseph Dweba, 1. Steven Kitshoff (c). Replacements: 16. Jean-Jacques Kotze, 17. Alister Vermaak, 18. Neethling Fouche, 19. Connor Evans, 20. Junior Pokomela, 21. Marcel Theunissen, 22. Godlen Masimla, 23. Clayton Blommetjies.

Vodacom Bulls: 15. Kurt-Lee Arendse, 14. Cornal Hendricks, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Harold Vorster, 11. Canan Moodie, 10. Johan Goosen, 9. Embrose Papier, 8. Elrigh Louw, 7. Cyle Brink, 6. Marco Van Staden, 5. Ruan Nortje (c), 4. Ruan Vermaak, 3. Mornay Smith, 2. Johan Grobbelaar, 1. Gerhard Steenekamp. Replacements: 16. Bismarck Du Plessis, 17. Simphiwe Matanzima, 18. Sebastian Lombard, 19. Janko Swanepoel, 20. Nizaam Carr, 21. Izak Burger, 22. Chris Smit, 23. Stravino Jacobs.