DHL Stormers Remain Unbeaten

Photo by Hansie Linde/

Another super defensive effort from the Stormers who maintain their perfect record, and top spot in the South African conference, with a 17-7 victory over the Jaguares.

The DHL Stormers won the arm wrestle in the first quarter of the game but only had three points to show for their effort. The DHL Stormers, despite being a man down for ten minutes following a yellow card to Frans Malherbe enjoyed territorial and possession advantage. DHL Stormers lead 3-0 after 20 minutes with the score not a true reflection of the on-field action.

The massive arm-wrestle continued in the second quarter with the defences of both sides right on top. The Stormers had the best of territory and possession but could not break down the determined Jaguares' defence. Just a Damian Willemse penalty goal separated the two sides at the halftime break with the Stormers ahead by 3-0 over the Jaguares.

After a try-less first half, the floodgates opened shortly after the break with the Stormers crossing twice in a matter of minutes to open the match right up. The Stormers lead 17-0 at the end of the third quarter.

The Jaguares were able to stem the tide and, with a quarter of an hour to play, hit back with a five-pointer of their own but the damage was done. A second try by the Jaguares was not allowed, however, it must be said that the DHL Stormers were the better team on the day and deserved the 17-7 win. 


DHL Stormers: Try: Herschell Jantjies, Ruhan Nel. Conversion: Damian Willemse (2). Penalty: Damian Willemse

Jaguares: Try: Rodrigo Bruni. Conversion: Domingo Miotti

The teams:

DHL Stormers - 15. Dillyn Leyds, 14. Sergeal Petersen, 13. Ruhan Nel, 12. Jamie Roberts, 11. Seabelo Senatla, 10. Damian Willemse, 9. Herschel Jantjies, 8. Juarno Augustus, 7. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6. Jaco Coetzee, 5. JD Schickerling, 4. Salmaan Moerat, 3. Frans Malherbe, 2. Scarra Ntubeni, 1. Steven Kitshoff (captain). Replacements: 16. Chad Solomon, 17. Ali Vermaak, 18. Wilco Louw, 19. Chris van Zyl, 20. Johan du Toit, 21. Ernst van Rhyn, 22. Godlen Masimla, 23. Jean-Luc du Plessis.

Jaguares: 15. Emiliano Boffelli, 14. Bautista Delguy, 13. Santiago Chocobares, 12. Juan Cruz Mallia, 11. Sebastian Cancelliere, 10. Domingo Miotti, 9. Tomas Cubelli (captain), 8. Rodrigo Bruni, 7. Tomas Lezana, 6. Francisco Gorrissen, 5. Lucas Paulos, 4. Matias Alemanno, 3. Santiago Medrano, 2. Santiago Socino, 1. Nahuel Tetaz. Replacements: 16. Julian Montoya, 17. Mayco Vivas, 18. Joel Sclavi, 19. Guido Petti Pagadizaval, 20. Marcos Kremer, 21. Gonzalo Bertranou, 22. Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, 23. Matias Moroni.