DHL Stormers Outclass Willing Cheetahs

Photo Credit:

The DHL Stormers dominated the Cheetahs for most of the game to win 30-13. This win keeps the DHL Stormers hopes alive to be crowned Super Rugby Unlocked champions as they moved to the second position on the log only two log points behind the log leaders, Vodacom Blue Bulls.

The Stormers were in control for most of the match, however, the Cheetahs also created several scoring opportunities which they could not convert into points. The Cheetahs struggled in the scrums which the Stormers used to dominate possession and territory.

05:25 Herchel Jantjies caught the Cheetahs napping as he strolled over the tryline on the blindside to give the Stormers the early lead. (7-0)

The Stormers dominated possession and territory for the first 10 minutes of the match, while the Cheetahs struggled in the scrums and lineouts.

A knock-on by the Cheetahs' flyhalf Tian Schoeman five metres from his tryline allowed the Stormers to set up camp in the Cheetahs' red zone. After seven minutes of constant pressure and several penalties, the Stormers decided to convert the pressure into points.

20:30 The Stormers converted the pressure into points via a Damian Willemse penalty. (10-0)

With ten minutes to go in the first half, the Cheetahs managed to get their hands on more quality ball as they wrestled their way back into the match.

31:26 A Tian Schoeman converted penalty reduced the Stormers lead. (10-3)

39:49 Damian Willemse added three points with a dropgoal with seconds to go. (13-3)

The Stormers did not use all their chances to add points to their score and a lead of 10 points definately not a true reflection of their dominance. Although the Cheetahs looked a lot better in the last ten minutes of the first half, they never looked like a side that can win.

43:10 The first "proper" scrum by the Cheetahs gave them a penalty which was converted by Tian Schoeman. (13-6)

44:23 The Stormers replied almost immediately after magic from Warrick Gelant. Juarno Augustus ended off the movement to increase the Stormers Lead. (20-6)

With 20 minutes to go in the match, the Cheetahs were back in the game. However, mistakes on the attack by the Cheetahs kept them from converting dominance into points.

63:14 Some Specmagic resulted in a try for the Cheetahs after a mistake bt the Stormers and the bounce of the ball that favoured the Cheetahs. (20-13)

69:35 A penalty converted by Damian Willemse restored the Stormers ten-point lead. The complete dominance by the Stormers' scrum was the reason for this penalty as well as the Stormers lead. (23-13)

74:20 Warrick Gelant scored the Stormers' third try after a great offload by Damian Willemse. (30-13)

The Stormers earned four log points for their effort at Newlands, which moved them to the second place on the log. A workmanlike performance by the Stormers to beat a willing but struggling Cheetahs side with 30-13.

DHL Stormers: Tries: Herschel Jantjies, Juarno Augustus, Warrick Gelant. Conversions: Damian Willemse (3). Penalties: Damian Willemse (3).
Toyota Cheetahs: Try: Rosco Specman. Conversion: Tian Schoeman. Penalty: Tian Schoeman (2)


DHL Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Ruhan Nel, 13 Dan du Plessis, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Angelo Davids, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Marcel Theunissen, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff (captain). Replacements (from): 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Neethling Fouche, 20 Chris van Zyl, 21 David Meihuizen, 22 Ben-Jason Dixon, 23 Godlen Masimla, 24 Kade Wolhuter, 25 Michal Hazner, 26 Leolin Zas.

Toyota Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Malcolm Jaer, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Jeandré Rudolph, 7 Junior Pokomela (captain), 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Carl Wegner, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Charles Marais. Replacements: 16 Boan Venter, 17 Marnus van der Merwe, 18 Khutha Mchunu, 19 JP du Preez, 20 Aidon Davis, 21 Ruben de Haas, 22 Reinhardt Fortuin, 23 Chris Smit.