DHL Stormers Not Unbeaten Anymore

Photo by Hansie Linde/

The DHL Stormers WAS the only unbeaten team in the 2020 super Rugby but after a disappointing showing against the Blues they find the Sharks breathing in their necks with only 1 league point the difference.

The Auckland Blues came out in the first quarter like a house on fire to lead 20-0 after twenty minutes of play. Clever kicks by the Blues gave them the territorial dominance which they used well too put the Stormers' defence under pressure.

The Stormers came back in the second quarter and scored two tries to reduce the Blues' lead to 20-14. A try late in the first half by the Blues gave them a 13 point lead with the second half to come. Although the Blues still dominated the physical the DHL Stormers clawed their way back inch by inch.

The Blues kept on the pressure in the third quarter and stretched their lead to 30-14 with no sign of letting up.

The Blues convincingly dominated the match from start to end and return home with 9 league points in the bag.


DHL Stormers: Tries: Juarno Augustus, Sergeal Petersen. Conversions: Damian Willemse (2).

Blues: Tries: Joe Marchant (2), Dalton Papalii. Conversions: Otere Black (3). Penalties: Otere Black (4).

The teams:

DHL Stormers – 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Jaco Coetzee, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff (captain). Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Cobus Wiese, 21 Ernst van Rhyn, 22 Godlen Masimla, 23 Jean-Luc du Plessis.

Blues: 15. Stephen Perofeta, 14. Joe Marchant, 13. Rieko Ioane, 12. TJ Faiane, 11. Mark Telea, 10. Otere Black, 9. Sam Nock; 8. Hoskins Sotutu, 7. Dalton Papalii, 6. Tom Robinson, 5. Jacob Pierce, 4. Patrick Tuipulotu (Captain), 3. Sione Mafileo 2. Kurt Eklund, 1. Karl Tu’inukuafe. Replacements: 16. Luteru Tolai, 17. Marcel Renata, 18. Ofa Tuungafasi, 18. Aaron Carroll, 20. Blake Gibson, 21. Jonathan Ruru, 22. Harry Plummer, 23. Matt Duffie.