DHL Stormers Lost Arm Wrestle Against Munster


The DHL Stormers took on Munster in Limerick in extremely wet conditions on Saturday and after trailing 00-10 at the halftime break eventually lost 03-10.

Munster dominated play in the first half setting up camp in the Stormers' half for extended periods to lead 10-00 after scoring their first try in the final minute of the first half. The second half was a 40-minute arm wrestle with the Stormers' converted penalty the only points scored in the second half.

Jack Crowley converted a penalty for the Munster to open the scoring after 15 minutes of play to lead 03-00.

Munster set up camp in the Stormers' half, for most of the first half but could only score their first try after 39 minutes of play. Munster's lock Edwin Edogbo forced his way over the tryline following wave after wave of attacks by Munster. Munster led 10-00 at the halftime break.

The Stormers had a "better" start in the second half. Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu converted a penalty for the Stormers to reduce Munster's lead to 10-03 after 6 minutes of play in the second half.

No more points were scored in the second half. Munster won 10-03.

Munster: Try: Edwin Edogbo. Conversion: Jack Crowley. Penalty: Jack Crowley
DHL Stormers: Penalty: Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu


Munster: 15 Shane Daly, 14 Calvin Nash, 13 Antoine Frisch, 12 Alex Nankivell, 11 Shay McCarthy, 10 Jack Crowley, 9 Craig Casey, 8 Gavin Coombes, 7 John Hodnett, 6 Peter O’Mahony (captain), 5 Tadhg Beirne, 4 Edwin Edogbo, 3 John Ryan, 2 Scott Buckley, 1 Jeremy Loughman. Replacements: 16 Chris Moore, 17 Josh Wycherley, 18 Stephen Archer, 19 Tom Ahern, 20 Jack O’Donoghue, 21 Conor Murray, 22 Rory Scannell, 23 Alex Kendellen.

DHL Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Ben Loader, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Ben-Jason Dixon, 6 Willie Engelbrecht, 5 Gary Porter, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Neethling Fouche (captain), 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Sti Sithole. Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Brok Harris, 19 Adre Smith, 20 Keke Morabe, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 Clayton Blommetjies, 23 Angelo Davids.