DHL Stormers End Losing Run With Victory Over Zebre Parma


The DHL Stormers ended a run of four straight defeats with a 31-7 Vodacom United Rugby Championship win over Zebre Parma.

Evan Roos, Ruhan Nel, Courtnall Skosan, Leolin Zas and Damian Willemse scored tries, while fly-half Manie Libbok added three conversions, with scrum-half Alessandro Fusco touching down for Zebre and Giovani Montemauri converting.

The Stormers established early dominance in terms of territory and possession, and they went ahead after 14 minutes when a powerful scrum put Zebre in reverse gear and Roos claimed a try that Libbok converted.

But Zebre, playing with far greater confidence than in recent seasons, began to make their presence felt, particularly up-front.

The visitors thought they had scored an equalising try nine minutes before half-time when flanker Guido Volpi rounded off a flowing move, but it was disallowed following a knock-on earlier in the move by wing Simone Gesi.

Stormers continued to push for a second try before the interval, and it arrived with just two minutes of the half remaining.

Flanker Hacjivah Dayimani was the catalyst through some impressive ball-carrying, then South Africa World Cup winner Willemse provided a key assist and Nel scored.

Zebre were not to be denied a score, though, and they finished the half when Fusco pounced from close range and Montemauri converted, making 12-7 at half-time.

But the Stormers needed just five minutes of the second half to reassert dominance as Roos set up a promising attacking position from which Skosan finished strongly and Libbok's conversion made it a 12-point gap once more.

Zebre continued to give as good as they got, frustrating the Stormers for lengthy periods and occasionally threatening through the searing pace of Gesi.

Their resistance, though, finally crumbled 13 minutes from time when Zas claimed a bonus-point try as Stormer finished strongly.

And there was still time for Willemse to make another notable contribution, adding his team's fifth and final touchdown, converted by Libbok, as Stormers moved past 30 points.

DHL Storers: Tries: Evan Roos, Ruhan Nel, Courtnall Skosan, Leolin Zas, Damian Willemse. Conversions: Manie Libbok (3).
Zebre Parma: Try: Alessandro Fusco. Conversions: Giovanni Montemauri.


DHL Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Courtnall Skosan, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Damian Willemse, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Hacjivah Dayimani, 6 Deon Fourie, 5 Ruben van Heerden, 4 Adre Smith, 3 Neethling Fouche (c), 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Kwenzo Blose. Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Ali Vermaak, 18 Brok Harris, 19 Connor Evans, 20 Marcel Theunissen, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Clayton Blommetjies, 23 Suleiman Hartzenberg.

Zebre Parma: 15 Geronimo Prisciantelli, 14 Jacopo Trulla, 13 Luca Morisi, 12 Enrico Lucchin, 11 Simone Gesi, 10 Giovanni Montemauri, 9 Alessandro Fusco, 8 Taina Fox-Matamua, 7 Bautista Stavile, 6 Guido Volpi, 5 Andrea Zambonin, 4 Matteo Canali, 3 Matteo Nocera, 2 Luca Bigi (c), 1 Danilo Fischetti. Replacements: 16 Giampietro Ribaldi, 17 Luca Rizzoli, 18 Muhamed Hasa, 19 Leonard Krumov, 20 Giovanni Licata, 21 Thomas Dominguez, 22 Franco Smith Jr, 23 Lorenzo Pani.