Chiefs Change Three For Blues


The Chiefs will face the Blues on Sunday’s Investec Super Rugby Aotearoa match at Eden Park @ 05:35 SA Time. Gallagher Chiefs Head Coach Warren Gatland has made only three changes to his match-day squad. The Blues won the first game in the Super Rugby Aotearoa game in Round two with 24-12. The Blues lost to the Hurricanes (27-29) while the Chiefs lost to the Highlanders (31-33).

Loosehead prop Reuben O’Neill joins the starting front row in place of starting loosehead prop Aidan Ross who has been sidelined with a calf strain following last weekend’s clash against the Highlanders. The Gallagher Chiefs elusive backline remains unchanged.

In the reserves, young prop Ollie Norris joins the twenty-three alongside Taranaki halfback Lisati Milo-Harris.

Loose forward Adam Thomson will don jersey nineteen for his 100th Investec Super Rugby appearance.

Gatland said the side has once again prepared well for the derby.

“Last weekend we had the opportunity to finish the job off, but as we have seen in this competition you need to deliver an 80-minute performance, or longer in some instances and we didn’t do that. This week we are looking for that consistency, starting strong once again and then continuing to stay in the game and maintain our focus on what we can control.”

Chiefs: 1. Reuben O’Neill, 2. Bradley Slater, 3. Nepo Laulala, 4. Tupou Vaa’i, 5. Mitchell Brown, 6. Lachlan Boshier, 7. Sam Cane (C), 8. Pita Gus Sowakula, 9. Brad Weber, 10. Kaleb Trask, 11. Solomon Alaimalo, 12. Alex Nankivell, 13. Anton Lienert-Brown, 14. Sean Wainui, 15. Damian McKenzie. Replacements: 16. Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17. Ollie Norris, 18. Ross Geldenhuys, 19. Adam Thomson, 20. Mitchell Karpik, 21. Lisati Milo-Harris, 22. Aaron Cruden, 23. Quinn Tupaea.