Cheetahs Demolished Pumas In Brilliant First Half

Photo Credit: Gallo Images

The Toyota Cheetahs won 53-31 against the Phakisa Pumas in the second match of the opening round of Super Rugby Unlocked in Bloemfontein. 

The speed and accuracy at which the Cheetahs played just confirmed the class of the Bloemfontein outfit and again raised a lot of question with the decision to axe them from the Pro14.

It took the Cheetahs only 1 minute to score their first try of the match with their second that took another 10 minutes. The speed at which the Cheetahs played just too much for the Pumas who tried their best to slow the game down with no success. Six tries later and the Cheetahs lead 41-3 at half time. 

It took 2 minutes in the second half for the Cheetahs to continue the trend of the first half. However, 4 minutes into the game a mistake by Ruan Pienaar led to a try by the Pumas that reduced the Cheetahs lead to 41-10.

Several replacements by the Cheetahs as well as a Puma team that played a lot better stopped the Cheetahs scoring fest until the 57th minute of the game before the scored their 8th try.

With 20 minutes to go the Cheetahs lead with 53-17 with the momentum slowly moving to the Pumas. The last 20 minutes became a ding dong battle between the two teams with two tries by the Pumas in the last 5 minutes which narrowed the gap to 53-24 which was also the final score.

The Pumas looked a lot better in the second half which they "won" 28-11. The Cheetahs, however, won the game in the first 40 minutes.


Toyota Cheetahs: Tries: Malcolm Jaer (3), Junior Pokemela, Rosco Specman (2), Ruan Pienaar, William Small-Smith. Conversions: Ruan Pienaar (5). Penalty: Ruan Pienaar.

Pumas: Try: Ginter Smuts, Daniel Maartens, le Roux Roets, Neil Maritz. Conversion: Eddie Fouche (4) Penalty: Eddie Fouche


Toyota Cheetahs: 15. Clayton Blommetjies, 14. Malcolm Jaer, 13. Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12. Frans Steyn, 11. Rosko Specman, 10. Tian Schoeman, 9. Ruan Pienaar, 8. Jasper Wiese, 7. Junior Pokomela, 6. Andisa Ntsila, 5. Walt Steenkamp, 4. Carl Wegner, 3. Luan de Bruin, 2. Reinach Venter, 1. Charles Marais. Replacements: 16. Chucky van der Westhuizen, 17. Boan Venter, 18. Erich de Jager, 19. JP du Preez, 20. Chris Massyn 21. Aidon Davis, 22. Tian Meyer, 23. William Small-Smith.

Pumas: 15. Devon Williams, 14. Luther Obi, 13. Wayne van der Bank, 12. Ryan Nell (captain), 11. Neil Maritz, 10. Eddie Fouche, 9. Ginter Smuts, 8. Willie Engelbrecht, 7. Kwanda Dimaza, 6. Daniel Maartens, 5. Cameron Lindsay, 4. Le Roux Roets, 3. Ruan Kramer, 2. Marko Janse van Rensburg, 1. Morgan Naude. Replacements: 16. Liam Hendricks, 17. Simon Westraadt, 18. Dewald Maritz, 19. Darrien Landsberg, 20. Jeandre Rudolph, 21. Dian Badenhorst, 22. Neil Marais, 23. Ruwellyn Isbell, 24. HP van Schoor, 25. Fiela Boshoff.